Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2016, 07:26 AM   #1
coldsun
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Default Cleric's Doppleganger

Hi!
I want to ask You to help us with rules little bit more.
Imagine situation when Cleric (let's assume that his strength is 20) faces Undead Monster and uses Doppleganger (his strength becomes 40). After that he discards one card to get bonus +3 versus Undead. Did he get +6 because of Doppleganger? Does his strength become 43 or 46?

Thank You very much in advance!
coldsun is offline  
Old 06-01-2016, 09:34 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Cleric's Doppleganger

Whatever the Cleric's combat strength is without the Doppleganger is the same strength that the Doppleganger has. Any other answer leads to bookkeeping and timing questions.

In your example, the Cleric's strength is 23, so the Doppleganger adds another 23 for a total of 46.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline  
Old 06-01-2016, 10:40 AM   #3
orcbgone
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Texas
Default Re: Cleric's Doppleganger

Does this apply to modifiers played after Doppelganger is played? Or just before?
orcbgone is offline  
Old 06-01-2016, 10:53 AM   #4
coldsun
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Default Re: Cleric's Doppleganger

As far as I got - both.
coldsun is offline  
Old 06-01-2016, 11:10 AM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Cleric's Doppleganger

Quote:
Originally Posted by orcbgone View Post
Does this apply to modifiers played after Doppelganger is played? Or just before?
The Doppleganger is an exact duplicate of your character. If your character changes, the Doppleganger changes to match it. If you have a combat strength of X, the Doppleganger also has a combat strength of X, for a total of 2X.

I'm not sure how to be clearer about this; if someone can tell me what is confusing them, I'll try to explain it a different way.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline  
Old 06-01-2016, 12:33 PM   #6
orcbgone
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Texas
Default Re: Cleric's Doppleganger

I did understand that, but it's always a good thing to be absolutely sure, :)

Thanks!
orcbgone is offline  
Old 06-01-2016, 01:59 PM   #7
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Cleric's Doppleganger

The situation described in the original question basically lead up to asking the same thing, with numbers, hence some confusion about why there was confusion.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 07:01 AM   #8
coldsun
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Default Re: Cleric's Doppleganger

It is because of options :)
1. Doppleganger is a "snapshot" of Munchkin at the moment this card is played.
2. Doppleganger is a reflection of Munchkin during the combat.
So, You explained that option #2 is correct.
Thank You very much!
coldsun is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 11:01 PM   #9
Mathgeni
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Default Re: Cleric's Doppleganger

I think there is room for confusion because one-shot items are played "to a side" either the munchkin side or the monster side.

I understand my following opinion is not in line with the official responses here but it may give perspective as to why there is room for confusion.

I see the one-shot item as a combat aid and not as part of the character himself due to the fact one-shots are played to a side. I base this in part on the use of "mate" and equivalent cards that double a monsters combat. In my groups' interpretation, mate doubles a monster and any monster enhancers that are on that monster and does not double one-shots played to the monster side.

Monster enhancers become an inherent part of the monster while one-shots do not, so my thoughts are that the same would have to be true on the munchkin side, where a one-shot is not part of the actual character, but rather a simple combat aid. Only equipped items (armor, footgear, etc) are inherently a part of the character as they are "on his person," so only those items would be double by doppleganger. Once doppleganger is played it more closely mimics the "mate" situation where a one-shot would be played to the side rather than on an individual entity.
Mathgeni is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 11:38 PM   #10
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Cleric's Doppleganger

I would prefer not to have the 101 forum used for a debate about rule interpretations. MunchkinMan and I have given the official answer.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.