Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2016, 04:52 PM   #1
Fallen Ghost
 
Join Date: May 2016
Default Income tax question

Hello everyone!

I am fairly new to this game, and I have played a couple of rounds with friends by now. I have used this forum a lot to get answers on confusing issues, but I could not find anything of what I am about to ask now.

If I kick down the door and gets the income tax (or someone else plays it for that matter) the cursed one choses to discard an item, and the others have to discard items that equals the value on that. As I have understood, items are only items if they're equipped or in play. Can players choose to put a card from their hand to the table, making it an item and discard that one to satisfy the curse, after the curse is played on somebody?

Hope you understand my question, thanks in advance!
Fallen Ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 05:27 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Income tax question

Nope. You must resolve the Curse with cards as they stand at the time the Curse takes effect.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 01:02 AM   #3
Fallen Ghost
 
Join Date: May 2016
Default Re: Income tax question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Nope. You must resolve the Curse with cards as they stand at the time the Curse takes effect.
Perfect, that's what I thought and it makes sense, now we know for sure the next time. Thank you for your reply!

EDIT: Just so everything is clear. Player A is cursed with income tax, so that means that Player B, C and D is NOT allowed to play cards to the table and discard these? It's not only illegal for player A but for everyone?

Last edited by Fallen Ghost; 05-17-2016 at 01:07 AM. Reason: Follow up question
Fallen Ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 04:30 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Income tax question

Right; no one may play cards. It's not legal to play Items when it's not your turn, anyway, except for one-shots played from the hand to gain their effects.

(The exception is that when you get Items, you may play them immediately. But that doesn't apply here.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
confused, curse, income, munchkin, tax

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.