Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2014, 08:52 AM   #1
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Ship of The Line and lose Navy Class

I'm Navy and use Ship of The Line (usable by Navy only). It is my only Ship.
I lose Navy Class. What happens to the ship?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 09:28 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Ship of The Line and lose Navy Class

The Ship of The Line says it is usable only by Navy, and as the rules say, "Ships are Items, and follow normal Item rules." So, if you're not Navy anymore, you must turn it sideways to indicate you aren't using it. That does not give you the ability to play a different Ship because you can (normally) only have one Ship in play.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 11:21 AM   #3
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Ship of The Line and lose Navy Class

Is it correct for Steed too?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 12:31 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Ship of The Line and lose Navy Class

Yes, it would be the same.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 07:07 AM   #5
Bellum
 
Bellum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Russian Federation, Kislovodsk
Default Re: Ship of The Line and lose Navy Class

And what about this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
You cannot have a Steed/Ship/Vehicle in play that you cannot use at that moment (unless, of course, you use Cheat!, which means you CAN use it at that moment). Hireling-type cards also follow that rule, even if they happen to be Items.

This will be added to the FAQ as an official ruling.
No discarding, no sell/trade, just turn sideway, really?
Bellum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 11:32 AM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Ship of The Line and lose Navy Class

Well, now, I hadn't seen that in my searching, and the FAQ doesn't say that anywhere that I can find easily, so I'm guessing that getting that on the FAQ hasn't happened yet.

I'll defer to Andrew's statement. I'll also let him describe what happens next if I'm incorrect in assuming it's similar to that of having to get rid of extra Big Items when you lose the ability to have more than one: During your turn you could sell it (assuming you have enough other items to get to 1000 Gold Pieces); during or not during your turn you could trade it to another player who could take it; if no one wants to trade in a way you want, then you must give it to the lowest level player who could take it; if none of the previous options are available, discard it.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by Andrew Hackard; 09-16-2014 at 10:01 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 10:06 AM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Ship of The Line and lose Navy Class

I'm rescinding my previous ruling to this extent: you MAY have a Ship, Steed, or Vehicle in play and unequipped, either because you cannot currently use it or because you just don't want to. However, this does not override the rule about only having one in play at a time; if you have an unequipped Steed, you cannot play another one without getting rid of the first one.

Furthermore, I'm ruling that a Steed/Ship/Vehicle that is in play and unequipped DOES count against your Big items, because "it carries itself" is a function of a Steed/Ship/Vehicle that is currently equipped, not an inherent feature of the card type. So if you are forced to unequip a Steed (etc.) and you already have another Big item in play, you have to resolve the conflict before doing anything else.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 12:07 AM   #8
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Ship of The Line and lose Navy Class

I think it is important for those who find THIS thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
This is an official ruling that covers all manners of conveyance (Steeds, Vehicles, Ships) and supersedes anything else we may have said previously on the topic:

Unless a specific card says otherwise, Steeds, Vehicles, and Ships MAY NOT be unequipped. If they are in play, they must be equipped.
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.