Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2016, 03:21 AM   #1
Mdcastle
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Default Box of expired candy question

Did a search for the card and found nothing, so asking here in case i missed something.

Last night my friend had the candy equipped and rolled a die to determine the power of the box of expired candy before deciding whether to fight a monster in his hand. We let it go as it didn't really affect the game at the time but i would like to know if that's allowed or if you can only roll when in a combat.
Mdcastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 07:34 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Box of expired candy question

If no one is in combat, there's no "side" to apply the bonus to. Once the player starts the fight, the Candy resets to zero until he rolls again.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 04:42 AM   #3
Mdcastle
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Default Re: Box of expired candy question

Ah, good point. Thanks munchkinly.
Mdcastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 03:53 PM   #4
rukimon
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Default Re: Box of expired candy question

A further question about this card...

Every time you use the card, you risk losing it (on the roll of a 6). So if my combat strength is already sufficient to beat a monster without needing any help from the Box of Expired Candy, can I choose to not use it during that combat so as not to risk losing it unnecessarily?

I have pretty much the same question for Catapult from the Kittens booster - and I guess any similar cards - If a card carries the possibility of a negative effect each time it's used, can I choose NOT to use it at times such as when it isn't necessary to win a combat.
rukimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 03:30 PM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Box of expired candy question

Quote:
Originally Posted by rukimon View Post
If a card carries the possibility of a negative effect each time it's used, can I choose NOT to use it at times such as when it isn't necessary to win a combat.
Only if the card text allows you to choose not to use it (such as the Foof Gun).
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.