Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2014, 11:43 AM   #1
pegasusteed
 
pegasusteed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Tough Zombie --> dies --> lose power before his new turn ???

hi there!

I've found no threads about this issue so I'll introduce it here now:

I'm a tough zombie, and during my turn I die in order to draw 8 brand new cards,
so I lose my hand and everybody loots my body ---> i.e. my hand, in this case.

I'm at level 3 when it happened, and "thoug" is a Rank 3 power.

Before my new turn starts, another munchkin uses "curse, loose your power!" on me.

The question is: what happens here??

I'm still going to take 8 cards during my next turn? Do I immediately die?

I don't know how to solve it...



many thanks to you!!
pegasusteed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 11:49 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Tough Zombie --> dies --> lose power before his new turn ???

Yes, you still draw 8 new cards. Losing your Power doesn't change the fact that you technically died, and drawing the cards is part of the Death rules and has nothing to do with your Power.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 11:58 AM   #3
pegasusteed
 
pegasusteed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Re: Tough Zombie --> dies --> lose power before his new turn ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Yes, you still draw 8 new cards. Losing your Power doesn't change the fact that you technically died, and drawing the cards is part of the Death rules and has nothing to do with your Power.
many many thanks for the enlightenment!
pegasusteed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 02:05 PM   #4
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Tough Zombie --> dies --> lose power before his new turn ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by pegasusteed View Post
...so I lose my hand and everybody loots my body ---> i.e. my hand, in this case.
The looting phase of Death doesn't happen when a Tough Zombie dies. All that happens is you discard your hand and draw new cards on your next turn. MunchkinMan backed this up here.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 06:50 PM   #5
kotya
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Tough Zombie --> dies --> lose power before his new turn ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by pegasusteed View Post
I'm still going to take 8 cards during my next turn?
the card text does not specify that you should take cards during your next turn, so I have a doubt about it. should it be your next turn or the turn of the player to the left? could anyone please provide an official answer?
kotya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 08:21 PM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Tough Zombie --> dies --> lose power before his new turn ???

Remember that this is with respect to dying, so the normal rules for Death apply, except that you don't have your Items and hand cards looted, you just discard your hand. Everything else remains the same. By saying "next turn," the "your" is implied because of the general rules concering Death. For the card to suggest something different, it would have to be much clearer.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 04:39 PM   #7
kotya
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Tough Zombie --> dies --> lose power before his new turn ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Remember that this is with respect to dying, so the normal rules for Death apply
Yep, but the rules say, "Cards may add special rules, so in most cases when the rulesheet disagrees with a card, follow the card.". I don't know exactly whether this case is "most" or not, so I've decided to check it. Thank you!
kotya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.