Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2016, 02:37 PM   #1
evikour
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greece
Default Help me out here

When using this card in a battle, does the item I take from another player have to be legal for me to use, meaning for example an item requiring a hand where my two hands are occupied by other items or a second big item when I already have one in play? Do I get to keep the item when the battle is over?
Can I use this card (and do all the above apply) if I am the helper in a battle?
Thank you!
evikour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 10:44 PM   #2
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Help me out here

You can keep the Item and you can use as a helper, as long as it fulfills the condition that it's the difference between winning or losing, when you play the card.

The english card specifically mention you can switch your cards to make room for the new Item. Again, it has to fulfill the same condition to be the difference between winning or losing.

So, if you have a +1 card in 1-hand, and a +2 Item in the other 1-Hand, you could take a +5 2-Hands card, if you need 2 to beat the monster...
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 05:58 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Help me out here

If you're not a Cleric, you couldn't take a Cleric-only Item because you can't use it. And, the card says you may discard something (not switch out) of your own before taking the new Item. This means that you can discard an Item that would be in the way of you using the Item you take, but again, if you couldn't use the new Item for some other reason (not the right Class/Race/gender, most likely) it won't make the difference between winning and losing, so you couldn't take it anyway.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 02-16-2016 at 12:30 PM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 07:32 AM   #4
evikour
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greece
Default Re: Help me out here

Thank you both for your answers!
MunchkinMan do you agree with the example bonetm gave me?Is it legal to take the 2-Hand item (lets say I don't want to discard any of the other two 1-Hand items I already have in play) if it makes the difference between winning and losing?
And if so, when the battle is over do I get to keep all three items and just turn sideways some of them so as my new set up is legal?
Thanks again!
evikour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 07:47 AM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Help me out here

You cannot change the status of Items in order to use Help Me Out Here. The card allows you to discard a single Item, if you want, but you cannot unequip anything or alter your layout in any other way.

So no, Igor's example is not legal.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 10:50 AM   #6
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Help me out here

My bad. I recalled you could discard to make room for the new Item, but I didn't remember it was a single card. Also, I forgot to mention in my example the discarding part, but I stand corrected.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.