Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2016, 02:30 AM   #1
alexe
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Default Will two Doppelgangers gave you (N+N)*2 or N+N+N bonus?

If two Doppelgangers card played one after another, will they gave you (N+N)*2 or N+N+N bonus?

From one point of view "A Doppelganger is an exact duplicate of the player", so player with level 25 will become 25 + 25 + 25 = 75 after using two doppelganger cards.

From other point of view "Doppelganger: Doubles combat strength", so player with level 25 will become 25 * 2 = 50 and then 50 * 2 = 100

I have spent a week trying to google this question everywhere including this forum but have not found clear answer. Hope you could help me on this
alexe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 02:33 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Will two Doppelgangers gave you (N+N)*2 or N+N+N bonus?

Questions like this are why we discourage people from mixing multiple copies of the same game together.

I'm ruling that Dopps don't duplicate each other, because that way lies madness. So if you have a combat strength of 20, with two Dopps you would have a total combat strength of 60.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 07:23 AM   #3
Damon Griffin
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Antonio, TX
Default Re: Will two Doppelgangers gave you (N+N)*2 or N+N+N bonus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
I'm ruling that Dopps don't duplicate each other, because that way lies madness.
So if I'm playing a mixed fantasy/Cthulhu game, and I'm a Cultist or otherwise have a madness...
Damon Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 08:36 AM   #4
ThisisDog
 
ThisisDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sheffield, England
Default Re: Will two Doppelgangers gave you (N+N)*2 or N+N+N bonus?

That's a lovely set of straws you're clutching at...
__________________
NEED: Grimm Tidings, Rick & Morty, Deadpool, Spell Skool, Gets Promoted 2

Custom high-capacity Munchkin Storage: https://youtu.be/a6dXY4JaN4I
ThisisDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
doppelgangers, double, rules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.