Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2015, 01:06 PM   #1
jaysonol
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Orange County, California
Default Confusion on Big Items (wearing vs holding)

I apologize if this has already been discussed...I really did try the search function on 'Big Items' but did not find it....

Anyway, during our last game play I was a Dwarf (can carry any amount of big items). In my initial setup phase I played the Tuba (Big item, 2 hands?), and later on in the game I gained through a treasure, the Mithirl Armor (big item).

We had a spirited discussion if I could use both at the same time. Armor, while *big* doesn't have a *hands* lore on it, and I assume I could wear it without encumbering my hands, thus allowing me to still wield the Tuba.

We were all torn on it, referring to somewhere in the rules that a character can only hold one Big (2 handed) item.

So what is the consensus or ruling on this?
jaysonol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 01:09 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Confusion on Big Items (wearing vs holding)

Absent a card to the contrary, a player may only have one Big item on the table, period. Big and 2 Hands are not synonymous; an Item may be 2H and not Big or Big and not 2H.

The Dwarf may hold (and use) any number of Big items as long as they are otherwise legal. Your setup was completely legal.

The Cheat! card will let you use an extra Big item, among its many other uses.

Some other Big items, such as Steeds, say on their cards that they don't count against the limit.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 01:19 PM   #3
jaysonol
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Orange County, California
Default Re: Confusion on Big Items (wearing vs holding)

Andrew,

Thanks for the quick reply.

Are you stating, if I am reading you correctly, that the Dwarf (and/or Cheat card) would allow for multiple Big Items in play? So my Dwarf could say, wear the Mithril Armor, wield the Tuba, and say...a 2 handed weapon such as '11 Foot Pole" (+1) if I had it without breaking the rules?
jaysonol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 01:20 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Confusion on Big Items (wearing vs holding)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysonol View Post
Are you stating, if I am reading you correctly, that the Dwarf (and/or Cheat card) would allow for multiple Big Items in play?
Yes, that's what I'm saying. The Cheat! card makes one specific item legal; the Dwarf card lets you ignore the Big item limitation entirely.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 02:07 PM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Confusion on Big Items (wearing vs holding)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysonol View Post
Are you stating, if I am reading you correctly, that the Dwarf (and/or Cheat card) would allow for multiple Big Items in play? So my Dwarf could say, wear the Mithril Armor, wield the Tuba, and say...a 2 handed weapon such as '11 Foot Pole" (+1) if I had it without breaking the rules?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Yes, that's what I'm saying. The Cheat! card makes one specific item legal; the Dwarf card lets you ignore the Big item limitation entirely.
Just to be very clear: You'd have to have the Cheat! card to use both Tuba of Charm and Eleven-Foot Pole, since you'd need 3 Hands to use both Items. That, or some other card that gives you an extra Hand. Dwarf does not override other requirements/restrictions just because an Item is Big.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
armor, big items, tuba

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.