Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2015, 02:44 PM   #1
orangesjull
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Default when you force another player

In munckin star for example there are the class "space explorer "

Well...i am space explorer and launch all my hand (3 cards min) for force to player A to help me.

Ok, the player A has in his hand cards for remove the monster, he can do it?

Can add other monster the player A if is forced to help me?

And other question. The player A and me do 22 points, the monster is level 18 and we win for 4 points.

The player B launch +5 to the monster. So player A and me lost for 1 point.

I can,t do anymore, but player A has in his hand -5 to monster. But in his hand!!!

Is forced the player A launch this card from his hand?

Help please we had a disccusion of this

....Munchkinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!!!!!! aghhh xd
orangesjull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 02:52 PM   #2
Devin Lewis
Munchkin Editorial Assistant
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: when you force another player

A player you have forced into combat is under no obligation to actively help you win. It is quite Munchkinly to attempt to sabotage a combat you find yourself pulled into.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin Hireling, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 03:05 PM   #3
orangesjull
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Default Re: when you force another player

So...the skill for force to other player to win the combat has no logic.

If you force to get help and the player forced up or remove to the monster....where is the power of this skill?
orangesjull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 03:15 PM   #4
Devin Lewis
Munchkin Editorial Assistant
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: when you force another player

Because you can't use that ability to win the game in most cases, if they use a really powerful card to make you lose combat then it's a card you don't have to worry about later. Also, if you have to Run Away, so do they. So they have to weigh sabotaging the combat against the potential downside of the Bad Stuff.

It's still a very useful ability, especially early on in a game. Not everyone is going to be able to stop you from winning the combat, after all.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin Hireling, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 06:22 AM   #5
orangesjull
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Default Re: when you force another player

The Ranger Explorer can win the party using this power. The Bard for example says that no is possible. In the Explorer says " you can force to get help to other player if this help is the difference with to win or to lose. .." So if i need points of other player for kill monster and i pay with cards from hand the other player add other monster or remove it, can i get again the cards ro my hand? Cause the skill didnt work. .

And thanks a lot for help me Denin but iam still with dudes cause in the card says " ...if this help is the difference with to win or to lose"
orangesjull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 06:54 AM   #6
griffinsclaw
 
griffinsclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: NY
Default Re: when you force another player

if his current combat bonus would make the difference between losing and winning (his level+the bonuses from his equipped, non-one-shot things) then you can use the power. If something happens after that that would mean you aren't winning anymore, you don't get to "take-back" the power. You're both stuck in the combat together.
griffinsclaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 07:20 AM   #7
orangesjull
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Default Re: when you force another player

Yes is ok. But i want say: the forced player can up or can remove the monster? If is forced to help i dont understand how is possible up to the monster or remove it.
orangesjull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 09:17 AM   #8
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: when you force another player

The other player is forced to join you in combat. The other player is not forced to try to win. They can sabotage the combat by any means allowed in the rules, such as buffing the monster or adding new monsters with a Wandering Monster card.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 10:58 AM   #9
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: when you force another player

OFFICIAL ANSWER: A player who is forced to join a combat may still work against the munchkins or help the monsters. He is not required to try to win the fight.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 10:59 AM   #10
orangesjull
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Default Re: when you force another player

Ok thanks to all :) It,s ok
orangesjull is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.