Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2014, 06:59 PM   #1
Gidoza
 
Join Date: May 2013
Default Race/Class Enhancers

2 questions with regard to these...

A. In know that Legendary/Elder/Elite are race/class enhancers; now, in virtue of Munchkin 8, do Half-Breed and Super Munchkin become race/class enhancers as well?

B. Whereas with Super Munchkin or Half-Breed, you can shift around race cards because you got an extra one to use, I presume that you CAN'T do this with Legendary/Elder/Elite these can't be moved/swapped to another race/class card: once one is picked, you gotta stick with it or lose it, and if you throw it out to switch classes, then it's gone. Is this correct?
Gidoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 07:03 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Race/Class Enhancers

A, no, because you're correct about B. Half-Breed and Super Munchkin are their own kind of cards, but closer to Race and Class cards than Race/Class enhancers, as they can be discarded at whim. Also, they are not attached to a particular Race or Class.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 07:16 PM   #3
Gidoza
 
Join Date: May 2013
Default Re: Race/Class Enhancers

Hm! I didn't know that Half Breed or Super Munchkin could be discarded at a whim...I missed that one somehow. And Legendary/Elite/Elder can't be?
Gidoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 07:17 PM   #4
Gidoza
 
Join Date: May 2013
Default Re: Race/Class Enhancers

Oh, and thank you. :D
Gidoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 08:29 PM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Race/Class Enhancers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gidoza View Post
Hm! I didn't know that Half Breed or Super Munchkin could be discarded at a whim...I missed that one somehow. And Legendary/Elite/Elder can't be?
A Class/Race Enhancer is attached to the Class or Race you play it on. Nothing in the rules about them (you'll have to look at the rules for Munchkin: Reloaded) allows you to discard them just because you want to. You could discard a Class Enhancer to power an ability that requires a card discard, or in order to satisfy a Curse or Bad Stuff that requires you to discard a card. And, of course, if you discard the Race or Class the card is attached to, it must be discarded.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 09:32 PM   #6
Gidoza
 
Join Date: May 2013
Default Re: Race/Class Enhancers

Ah, so in that sense, class/race enhancers function more like items, even though they are not items. Would that be a better way of putting it?

And...since there's nothing in the rules about this, I'm presuming that you can only have one such enhancer placed on a single race/class card and cannot double it...but worth checking as well, I suppose.
Gidoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 10:48 PM   #7
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Race/Class Enhancers

The rules card from Munchkin: Reloaded, as I mentioned before, covers that, but it restates a rule from the main rules, essentially: You may only have one copy of a Class Enhancer or Race Enhancer on any of your Races or Classes. I.e., you can't have a two Dark Races or two Elite Classes. It is a known oversight that the rules for Class/Race Enhancers are missing in the Munchkin 8 rules.

All of the rules can be found on this page: http://www.worldofmunchkin.com/rules
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 08:56 AM   #8
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Race/Class Enhancers

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
A Class/Race Enhancer is attached to the Class or Race you play it on. Nothing in the rules about them allows you to discard them just because you want to.
But
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAQ
Q. When can I play (or discard) Master, Dark, or High cards?
A. They can be played (or discarded) at at any time you would play (or discard) a Class or Race card.
so can I discard Class/Race Enhancer or not?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 10:51 AM   #9
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Race/Class Enhancers

The FAQ is correct. The rules should have been clearer and we will make notes to improve them the next time we reprint Munchkin Game Changers and Munchkin 8.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.