Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2015, 04:02 PM   #1
Chupacabro
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Default End Game Combat Dispute

Last night 3 of my friends were on a Munchkin bender at 2am when all hell broke loose. While playing standard Munchkin (2014 ed.) I was a level 9 and they were both level 8's. I had an effective fighting power of +22 and when I looked for trouble I played the level 4 Undead Horse. Since I clearly had the horse beat, they then wandered in a Level 18 Squidzilla. I used a one shot potion and had both monsters beat. They then wandered in a level 8 Face Sucker and made it +10 Humongous. I then used the Polymorph Potion for the level 18 Face Sucker and then their last ditch effort was another wandered in monster (can't remember which) but it was around a level 10, then they dumped some +potions on it making it more than my +22 fighting power...until I pulled out the DOPPLEGANGER from my hand and I was convinced I had won. At this point we realized we got a little sloppy with cards everywhere, but I clearly was winning. Below are the "heated" questions/"what ifs" that followed:

1.Did I win, or did we resolve this massive combat incorrectly, my understanding is its a "back and forth" process of increasing and decreasing fighting power until someone wins or losses and resolving combats in order?
2.My friend realized he had a Mate card after I played my DOPPLEGANGER and wanted to "mate" the Level 8 Face Sucker (with the +10 Humongous) potentially making it a +36? Would that have been possible had he initially thought of that? Is it possible to go back after that monster had already been "resolved" and mate it after I played my DOPPLEGANGER?

I love this game and just need more help understanding when things get convoluted.

Last clarification. In the general FAQ's it covers "exactly what is a weapon" and explains to use common sense with items like the Singing and Dancing Sword. My understanding from the FAQ is that it counts as a weapon slot, but Erik Zane states in a separate thread it doesn't count as an item slot? Which one is it?

Thanks!

Last edited by Chupacabro; 03-01-2015 at 04:05 PM.
Chupacabro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 07:14 PM   #2
eedee
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Default Re: End Game Combat Dispute

1. I don't see anything illegal in the combat described above and yes, Munchkin is all about that back and forth until someone wins/loses

2. The polymorph potion is already played and the face sucker is gone. Once a card has been resolved there's no take backsies


The singing and dancing sword is considered a weapon. I don't know where you get this "weapon slot" term, I have never heard that used anywhere. Erik Zane is saying that the The singing and dancing sword doesn't take up any of the item slots you have, that are
1 Headgear
1 Armor
2 Hands
1 Footgear

The singing and dancing sword carries itself, you don't have to hold it on your hand, and use one of the hand slots you have.

Last edited by eedee; 03-01-2015 at 07:43 PM.
eedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:46 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: End Game Combat Dispute

So you had a combat strength of 22, and then the Monster side's combat strength went from 4 to 22 with the addition of Squidzilla, so you're losing because of the tie. You play a one-shot, then they add another 18, which you wipe out with Pollymorph Potion. Once that Monster was gone, Mate could not be played on it, but before, it could have been, and then you'd have to have picked the Mate or the original (and we always say to get rid of the Mate, since it's just easier since the original has the Level number on it) to dismiss. However, Mate could have been played on Undead Horse or Squidzilla, or the new Monster.

The back and forth is exactly how it happens, but once you get to a state where you are winning, you have to give the other players a chance to stop you.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:51 AM   #4
Chupacabro
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Default Re: End Game Combat Dispute

Thanks and thanks! Item slot was the phrase I was looking for, sorry to confuse.

Can you mate a monster after it's been buffed with one shot potions etc. or do you have to mate it before?
Chupacabro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 12:01 PM   #5
MaximusPrime
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: End Game Combat Dispute

Yes, you can mate a monster after it's buffed. All bonuses are also copied.
MaximusPrime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 12:26 PM   #6
Chupacabro
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Default Re: End Game Combat Dispute

Thanks. Happy to be a part of the Munchkin community, everyone rocks!
Chupacabro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 12:46 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: End Game Combat Dispute

Mate copies Monster Enhancers only. One-shot Items apply bonuses to the side, not to an individual monster, and Mate does not duplicate them.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 01:38 PM   #8
Chupacabro
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Default Re: End Game Combat Dispute

Thanks everyone. I'm sure I'll have more questions again.
Chupacabro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 01:36 AM   #9
Chupacabro
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Default Re: End Game Combat Dispute

Something struck me tonight while playing Munchkin again in regards to my initial scenario with this thread.

The Doppleganger I used towards the end of the long combat...the card reads something like "doubles your combat strength when fighting alone" (sorry I don't have it in front of me) for the exact wording, but...

1.Does this mean I shouldn't have been able to play it since my friends were in combat against me?
2.Or does it mean that I can only use it when its "only" me against monster/s with or without the help or hinderance from friends/enemies?
Chupacabro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 10:15 AM   #10
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: End Game Combat Dispute

You can't have a helper actually fighting with you in the combat in order to play Doppelganger. If other players play cards to help you or the Monster, that's not considered being "in the combat," so you were, for all intents and purposes, alone. At least until you brought in your little duplicate buddy.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.