Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2015, 08:10 AM   #1
Join Date: Feb 2015
Default Adventure Time Munchkin: Request for ruling to a specific situation

Hi, this is a question related to a situation that happened in Adventure Time: Munchkin.

1: Player A kicks open the door to reveal "Curse! De-Corpsinated" (player needs to make a runaway roll, if he fails, he suffers the bad stuff of the top most monster) - I think I read a rule that I can't quote the cards so I summarised (??)
2: Player A rolls a '1'
3: Player A now has to suffer bad stuff of top-most Monster in Door discards.


Can player B, who has "James Baxter" (If a player fails a runaway roll, James Baxter can be discarded to cancel bad stuff and all players draw a face up treasure card) in play as an ally, help Player A by discarding James to cancel the Bad Stuff?

Players who said this was legal: The wording on the card says "If a player has just failed a runaway roll..." and NOT "If YOU.." so this means that the player who owns "James Baxter" can use it's effect to help other players.

Players who said this was not legal: Player B cannot use "James Baxter"s effect to help Player A you can only use "James Baxter"s effect for yourself (player who owns "James Baxter"). Additionally, it was mentioned that even if Player B can use his "James Baxter" card's effect on another player, this was not legal because Player A did not suffer the bad stuff from fighting that monster but just from failing a runaway roll from the curse.

What is the official ruling for this situation?

Thanks for your assistance!
ForgottenToys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 07:37 AM   #2
Super Moderator
MunchkinMan's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Adventure Time Munchkin: Request for ruling to a specific situation

A player could discard James Baxter to help any player, since that's what the card says, as worded. The wording of both cards allows the play of James Baxter in the situation you described.
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep --
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote

adventure time munchkin, james baxter, rules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.