Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2015, 03:40 PM   #1
dkjay
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Default Magic Lamp + Help - Share treasure?

In one of our first few games of Munchkin this situation came up and we weren't sure on the correct ruling. Any help is greatly appreciated.
  1. Player A knocks down the door and finds a monster. Player A recruits Player B to help them kill the monster and they agree to split the treasure evenly.
  2. Player C then buffs the monster to the point where Player A + Player B can't kill it.
  3. Player A then plays Magic Lamp on the monster.
Does Player A have to honor the agreement to split the treasure with Player B?

Thanks again!
dkjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 11:11 PM   #2
Shredhed
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Default Re: Magic Lamp + Help - Share treasure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkjay View Post
In one of our first few games of Munchkin this situation came up and we weren't sure on the correct ruling. Any help is greatly appreciated.
  1. Player A knocks down the door and finds a monster. Player A recruits Player B to help them kill the monster and they agree to split the treasure evenly.
  2. Player C then buffs the monster to the point where Player A + Player B can't kill it.
  3. Player A then plays Magic Lamp on the monster.
Does Player A have to honor the agreement to split the treasure with Player B?

Thanks again!
I would say so. Player B joined the combat and was on the hook for losing. Just because the player whose turn it is has to use a card to force the defeat (not kill) of the monster doesn't mean their deal is void.
Shredhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 06:19 PM   #3
FireTigeris
 
FireTigeris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Jax, FL
Default Re: Magic Lamp + Help - Share treasure?

I would say yes, based on Player's A asking for help-
__________________
Apocalypse: A1, A2, MA.
Cthulhu: C1, C2, C3, C4.
Holiday: SS, HS, TT, EE, N&N, GC*, LSB, dazed.
Star: S0D, SS.
Zombie: Z1, Z2, Z3, Z4.
Fantasy: M0D, M7, M8, L1, L2, L3, MP, MgP, KB, SK, PA.
FireTigeris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 08:28 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Magic Lamp + Help - Share treasure?

Player A defeated the Monster, with help, even if he played a card that made the Monster go away. Player A must still split the Treasure how the agreement was made. What argument would you make to say that the Treasure split shouldn't happen?
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.