Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2014, 10:12 AM   #1
Woof Dah
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default How often can a Thief steal?

Speaking of thief abilities, can a thief attempt to steal an item from more than one player in a turn if they discard a card per attempt?
Woof Dah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 11:16 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: How often can a Thief steal?

A Thief can steal as long as he has cards to discard (that means cards in the character's hand and from those he has in play, except for the Thief card) . A Thief is not limited to stealing only on his turn.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 11:38 AM   #3
Woof Dah
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default Re: How often can a Thief steal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
A Thief can steal as long as he has cards to discard (that means cards in the character's hand and from those he has in play, except for the Thief card) . A Thief is not limited to stealing only on his turn.
So let's say I'm a thief with 5 cards in my hand? I can use each card and attempt to steal 5 times, and even from the same player, all within the same turn?

Also, if I'm a Super Munchkin with only a Thief card in play (no other classes) then would I be immune from losing a level if I failed my steal attempt since the Super Munchkin status prevents any negative consequences from being a Thief to occur?
Woof Dah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 12:11 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: How often can a Thief steal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woof Dah View Post
So let's say I'm a thief with 5 cards in my hand? I can use each card and attempt to steal 5 times, and even from the same player, all within the same turn?
As long as your target has a small Item for you to steal, then, yes. As I said before, you can use cards you have in play (except Thief) to power a steal.

Quote:
Also, if I'm a Super Munchkin with only a Thief card in play (no other classes) then would I be immune from losing a level if I failed my steal attempt since the Super Munchkin status prevents any negative consequences from being a Thief to occur?
No. You have the benefit of being a Thief, which means you get to use the ability to steal. That doesn't mean that you're free of the costs or consequences from using the ability. A Super Thief doesn't get penalized in combat when being a Thief would be bad (this includes Monsters getting bonuses against a Thief), you aren't restricted from using Items that say not usable by a Thief, and Bad Stuff and Curses that affect a Thief wouldn't affect a Super Thief unless it says it would.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 05:07 AM   #5
Woof Dah
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default Re: How often can a Thief steal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
As long as your target has a small Item for you to steal, then, yes. As I said before, you can use cards you have in play (except Thief) to power a steal.


No. You have the benefit of being a Thief, which means you get to use the ability to steal. That doesn't mean that you're free of the costs or consequences from using the ability. A Super Thief doesn't get penalized in combat when being a Thief would be bad (this includes Monsters getting bonuses against a Thief), you aren't restricted from using Items that say not usable by a Thief, and Bad Stuff and Curses that affect a Thief wouldn't affect a Super Thief unless it says it would.
Thanks for clearing that up. I couldn't help but think that certain classes would be overpowered by the way my family and I were interpreting a "super-class" munchkin (thieves and Orcs, e.g.).
Woof Dah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 03:19 PM   #6
ThePokergod
 
ThePokergod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mentor, OH
Default Re: How often can a Thief steal?

One more question - can a Thief steal during combat?

For example, if I am a Thief, and I am losing to a monster, can I steal a wearable item and equip it to help me win? Can I steal a one-shot item if it is in someone else's backpack (I know that's not the official term - I forget the correct wording) and use it?

If I'm a thief and someone else is in combat, can I steal an item from them - an armor piece, for example, so that they are losing to the monster?
ThePokergod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 04:02 PM   #7
Devin Lewis
Munchkin Hireling
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: How often can a Thief steal?

No.

From the FAQ:

Q. Can a Thief steal something while he is in combat?
A. No. He's preoccupied.

Q. Can a Thief steal from someone else while THEY are in combat?
A. No. They're preoccupied.

Q. Can a Thief steal from someone while neither he nor his victim is in combat, but someone else is?
A. Yes.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin Hireling, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.