Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2014, 03:52 PM   #1
gmoukou
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default Wizard's ability for escape roll

hello,
my question is about when a wizard, who is losing a battle with one monster, (but does not want to charm it) is about to roll dice for his escape.

a) if the roll fails, can he throw cards from his hand to add extra chances to his previous roll and afterwards successfully escape?
OR
b) he first throws away as much cards from his hand he wants/can, to add chances, and THEN he rolls?
gmoukou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 04:03 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Wizard's ability for escape roll

It depends on when your Wizard card was printed. Before 2010, the Flight Spell ability worked like (b), but we changed the rules in 2010 so it works like (a) instead. If you're trying to be most current, therefore, go with (a).
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 04:19 PM   #3
gmoukou
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default Re: Wizard's ability for escape roll

so with the new rules you first roll the dice and if the outcome is not the desired one you throw way your cards.
thanks a lot!
gmoukou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 06:53 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Wizard's ability for escape roll

In either case, the Wizard says "cards" not "hand cards," which means that you can discard cards that are in play as well those from your hand to increase your bonus. That way, even if you have one card in your hand, you could also discard from cards in play to get up to a +3 bonus to your Run Away roll.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 06-10-2014 at 06:24 AM. Reason: Should have checked the card, since it says "after rolling."
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ability, escape roll, wizard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.