Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2014, 08:06 AM   #1
razorccatu
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Default Battering Ram Rules Question

The Battering Ram reads as follows,

Mod note: DO NOT QUOTE CARD TEXT.

So my question is multiple parts. This is listed as a 4 hand card. Do I HAVE to have a helper? If my hands were free and I had a Hanshee (-1 Hand) and another -1 hand card, giving me 4 hounds, could I use this card myself with out a helper?

Can I use this card by myself along with a Cheat card?

What exactly is a "Helper?" Is that another player in combat with me? Or is that a henchman/sidekick/etc.? Or is it either/or?

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by Andrew Hackard; 05-19-2014 at 08:42 AM.
razorccatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 08:43 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Battering Ram Rules Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by razorccatu View Post
This is listed as a 4 hand card. Do I HAVE to have a helper? If my hands were free and I had a Hanshee (-1 Hand) and another -1 hand card, giving me 4 [hands], could I use this card myself with out a helper?

Can I use this card by myself along with a Cheat card?
Yes, to both of these.

Quote:
Originally Posted by razorccatu View Post
What exactly is a "Helper?" Is that another player in combat with me? Or is that a henchman/sidekick/etc.? Or is it either/or?
In rule language, a helper is ALWAYS another player who joins your fight and adds his combat strength to yours.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 08:53 AM   #3
razorccatu
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Default Re: Battering Ram Rules Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Yes, to both of these.
Just to clarify, that first line had two questions in it and you were saying that, Yes, I can use the card by myself if I somehow had four (or more) hands correct?
razorccatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 09:07 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Battering Ram Rules Question

If you can manage four Hands by yourself, you do not need a helper.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 09:14 AM   #5
razorccatu
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Default Re: Battering Ram Rules Question

Thank you kind sir!
razorccatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 11:42 AM   #6
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Battering Ram Rules Question

Card says "If you have a helper...", but what if I am a helper? Can we use it together?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 04:10 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Battering Ram Rules Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldon View Post
Card says "If you have a helper...", but what if I am a helper? Can we use it together?
By the strict reading, no, but I'm ruling that two people can use it together regardless of who actually owns the Ram.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2016, 07:24 PM   #8
kotya
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Battering Ram Rules Question

What if the other player is cursed by Tiny hands? Can we use the Battering Ram together as techically it is me who carries (=has in play) it, not them?
kotya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2016, 11:12 PM   #9
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Battering Ram Rules Question

No. The Curse doesn't allow them to help out with that Item.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battering, munchkin, promo, promotional, ram

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.