Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2014, 11:12 AM   #1
.Ce.
 
Join Date: May 2014
Default Curses and hand cards

Hey all,
a little question came up recently...

let's say I get cursed "loose a small item".
I got a few small ones equiped, and also got some on my hand (may potions or whatever).
Rules say hand cards can't be touched (if not said different on curse/bad things) but on the other side I got the choice which small item to loose.

So can I discard a small item off my hand, since it's my choice what to loose, or not?
.Ce. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 11:45 AM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Curses and hand cards

An "Item" card does not become an "Item" until you play it to the table.
A curse which targets an "Item" would never target a card in your hand, unless it specifically says it targets a "Card".
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 12:00 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Curses and hand cards

Cards in your hand cannot be affected by Curses or Bad Stuff unless they specifically mention cards in your hand.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 01:32 AM   #4
.Ce.
 
Join Date: May 2014
Default Re: Curses and hand cards

Something like Brf said "An "Item" card does not become an "Item" until you play it to the table." would be a great thing at Card Management > Your Hand.
So it's clearly to see, that even items on hand can't be target of curses/... by (targeted) players choice...
.Ce. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 06:53 AM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Curses and hand cards

The rules are pretty clear on the issue, however. They tell you, in Card Management, that nothing takes cards from your hand unless it specifically says it affects "your hand," and then the Item rules go on to say that an Item doesn't count until it has been played, which clearly indicates that a card is only just a card until it has been put in play.


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Rules
Cards in your hand are not in play. They don’t help you, but they can’t be taken away except by cards that specifically affect “your hand.”
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Rules
An item card in your hand does not count until you play it[.]
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.