Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2013, 12:04 AM   #1
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default You'll Take Away My Toy When You Pry It From My Cold, Dead Hands (M7) and Death

Will this card work with Items which is not in use?
Will this card work will work when I die?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.

Last edited by Moldon; 01-13-2013 at 04:27 AM.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 02:11 AM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: You'll Take Away My Toy When You Pry It From My Cold, Dead Hands (M7) and Death

The card says it makes all the qualifying Items immune, so it wouldn't matter if they were in use or not.

Given the name of the card, I have to assume it does not protect the Items from Death, even if that Death came from a curse or Bad Stuff. I can't say I've seen a ruling to officially back up this viewpoint, but I think the title is enough to prove the intent of the card.

Edit: I thought of a better argument as to why the card doesn't protect the Items from loss when you die. Nothing is protecting You'll Take Away My Toy When You Pry It From My Cold, Dead Hands from Death. Thus, when you die, the card ceases to have any effect, so it definitely can't protect Items any more.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 01-12-2013 at 09:59 AM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 12:38 PM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: You'll Take Away My Toy When You Pry It From My Cold, Dead Hands (M7) and Death

It protects qualifying Items which are not in use because it says "all Items," not "all Items in use."

And, it doesn't protect from looting due to death or theft, especially since it says that it protects against Traps, Curses (redundant, but clear), and Bad Stuff.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 04:48 AM   #4
Sabin
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Re: You'll Take Away My Toy When You Pry It From My Cold, Dead Hands (M7) and Death

For clarification, here is a specific scenario.

I have You'll Take Away My Toy When You Pry It From My Cold, Dead Hands, and the Guy Wire (usable only by males, which I am). I just died as the result of a monster's Bad Stuff.

1. Does YTAMTWYPIFMCDH protect the Wire from looting?

2. Does YTAM protect the Wire from getting discarded if not looted?

3. Can YTAM be looted?

4. Does YTAM itself get discarded if not looted?

Thanks!

Last edited by Sabin; 02-28-2014 at 04:52 AM.
Sabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 02:01 PM   #5
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: You'll Take Away My Toy When You Pry It From My Cold, Dead Hands (M7) and Death

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabin View Post
For clarification, here is a specific scenario.

I have You'll Take Away My Toy When You Pry It From My Cold, Dead Hands, and the Guy Wire (usable only by males, which I am). I just died as the result of a monster's Bad Stuff.

1. Does YTAMTWYPIFMCDH protect the Wire from looting?
No. Your friends are able to pry those toys from your cold, dead hands.

Quote:
2. Does YTAM protect the Wire from getting discarded if not looted?
No, it does not protect it.

Quote:
3. Can YTAM be looted?
Yes. It is a card that is in play, so it qualifies as a card somebody can loot from your corpse. It goes into their hand if they do.

Quote:
4. Does YTAM itself get discarded if not looted?
Yes, it gets discarded.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.