Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2014, 12:02 PM   #1
Harkannin
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default Critical Hit clarification

We got the Munchkin 5 De-ranged set and drew a critical hit card. The card reads "Play during any combat. All Items that give combat bonuses count double in this combat. One shot items do [I]not[I] count double."

So is this card single use only, or is it an ability that can remain in play for "any combat" like the "really impressive title" card?

I tried searching the forums and did not find the anything about critical hit cards, so my apologies if this has been answered elsewhere.
Harkannin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 12:06 PM   #2
Grimbriar
 
Grimbriar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Clarkesville, GA
Default Re: Critical Hit clarification

I'd say that single combat only, then it's off to the discards, simply because it reads "this combat" and not any combat.
__________________
~Dave

@Grimbriar on the Twitter

The Glimpse on XBL
Grimbriar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 02:11 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Critical Hit clarification

It's discarded after it's used. This is because it's not an Item, nor is it any other card type said to stay in play in the rules, and it does not have a persistent bonus at the top of the card.

Only Items require the "Usable Once Only" text if you are meant to discard them after using them. Other cards are always discarded after they are used unless the card or the rules say they stay in play. Some of these will still include the "Usable Once Only" text, but it is unnecessary. This part of the rules covers cards like Critical Hit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rules
Other Treasure cards (like Go Up a Level cards) are “specials.” You may play these at any time, unless the card itself says otherwise. Follow the card’s instructions, then discard it, unless it has a persistent bonus like an Item.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
critical hit, de-ranged, munchkin

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.