Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2014, 12:02 AM   #1
thelemicmagus
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Arkham, MA
Default Negative Combat Level Question

We had a game the other night where the situation arose where a Level 1 Elf Munchkin ran up against Squidzilla (Level 18 with Elves at a -4 against it). Sitting at a (now) -3 Combat Level, they asked for assistance from a Munchkin clocking in at a total Combat Level of 19.

There was a dispute about whether the negative Combat Level of the original Munchkin affected the Combat Level of the helper.

Just as monster levels are combined and all effects (positive or negative) applied to them jointly - in most cases - I was under the assumption the same applied towards the Munchkin team, giving them a total Combat Strength of 16. The others disagreed, reasoning that if the one Munchkin could kill Squidzilla all on their own ordinarily, the negative combat modifier on the other would not adversely affect them.
thelemicmagus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 12:36 AM   #2
NeosMagus
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kempton Park, South Africa
Default Re: Negative Combat Level Question

Your assumption is correct, it would be a total of 16. The helper IS NOT fighting alone. You could say that the Elf is being so bad at the combat that it IS adversely affecting the helper.
NeosMagus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 04:07 AM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Negative Combat Level Question

At that point, the Elf could have discarded their Elf Race to return their personal combat strength to 1 and their combined combat strength to 20, so they would have a chance to beat Squidzilla. You can discard your Race or Class at any time.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 09:06 AM   #4
offsides
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cheltenham, PA
Default Re: Negative Combat Level Question

I thought that once a penalty against a class or race (etc.) was in effect, it stayed in effect even if your class/race/etc. changed. Looking at the FAQ, it's unclear. It states what happens to you, but not what happens to the monster.

The only other possibilty I can guess is that if the monster says "+x against <class>" the bonus remains, because it affected the monster, but if it says "<class> are -x against it" the penalty goes, because the character is no longer that class.

Can we get an official ruling on this?
__________________
Joshua Megerman, SJGames MIB #5273 - Ogre AI Testing Division
offsides is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 09:23 AM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Negative Combat Level Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by offsides View Post
I thought that once a penalty against a class or race (etc.) was in effect, it stayed in effect even if your class/race/etc. changed.
No. Changing your Class or Race (sex, Mojo, etc.) means monsters lose any bonus or penalty against the former trait.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 12:30 PM   #6
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Negative Combat Level Question

The only type of bonus or penalty that sticks around are those that you paid for with discards. So, for example, a Cleric can discard some cards for Turning and then discard his Class card and the bonus sticks.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 02:08 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Negative Combat Level Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
The only type of bonus or penalty that sticks around are those that you paid for with discards. So, for example, a Cleric can discard some cards for Turning and then discard his Class card and the bonus sticks.
Right, but I was talking specifically about *monster* bonuses or penalties.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 02:10 PM   #8
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Negative Combat Level Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Right, but I was talking specifically about *monster* bonuses or penalties.
Sorry Andrew, I should have clarified. I thought that might be what caused offsides to get confused about bonuses and penalties that stick, so I thought it was worth mentioning it too. I wasn't trying to imply anything was wrong or missing from your response.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 11:32 AM   #9
offsides
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cheltenham, PA
Default Re: Negative Combat Level Question

Andrew answered my question exactly. I was good on the rest already. Thanks.
__________________
Joshua Megerman, SJGames MIB #5273 - Ogre AI Testing Division
offsides is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
negative combat level

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.