Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2014, 09:16 AM   #1
Anumari
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Discarding before death

So i was playing with some friends lats night and something that happened (which has happened before) made me question whether it can happen or not. I spent some time looking and was not able to find anything. Maybe i just missed something.

Here's the question:

If a player is fighting a monster (davy Jones) and cant beat it and does not make the run away. Is the player allowed to discard all his stuff so there is nothing for anyone to loot.
Anumari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 09:57 AM   #2
DoomedDuck
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Macon, GA
Default Re: Discarding before death

Absolutely not. Once you fail the runaway roll, you are dead. You can do nothing else except play a card that specifically says it can be played after rolling a die. Also, even if a person isn't dead, they can't discard cards for no reason.
DoomedDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 04:29 PM   #3
offsides
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cheltenham, PA
Default Re: Discarding before death

More specifically, after you fail to run away, you MUST suffer the Bad Stuff immediately (barring a card played to alter the result of the failed roll, such as Loaded Die, or something else that allows automatic escape). You only die if the Bad Stuff says you do.

Additionally, you cannot simply "discard your stuff" - items are lost when a card tells you to lose them (such as a curse), when you sell, trade or have them stolen (not during combat), or when your dead body is looted.
__________________
Joshua Megerman, SJGames MIB #5273 - Ogre AI Testing Division
offsides is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 11:07 AM   #4
Anumari
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Re: Discarding before death

Thanks for the reply's

Also does that mean you are not able to discard for the sake of discarding? unless specified by a card?
Anumari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 11:09 AM   #5
Devin Lewis
Munchkin Editorial Assistant
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: Discarding before death

That is correct.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin Hireling, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 11:20 AM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Discarding before death

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anumari View Post
Thanks for the reply's

Also does that mean you are not able to discard for the sake of discarding? unless specified by a card?
Because the context of the original part of this discussion might get lost on some future reader, I just want to make sure I clarify Devin's answer:

You can not discard Items or cards from your hand simply for the sake of discarding them. Races and Classes that you have in play (and subsequently Half Breed and Super Munchkin) can be discard at any time (i.e., you don't even have to wait for it to be your turn to discard them).

I checked, and what I wrote for the FAQ a "few" years ago still exists:

Quote:
Originally Posted by The FAQ
Q. The rules say that cards in play must be traded or discarded. When can I discard them?
A. This depends on the type of card. First, it must be in play in front of you (no discarding other people's cards, silly). Race and Class cards (including Half-Breed and Super Munchkin) can be discarded at any time, including to power a special ability, but not an ability for the discarded Race or Class (unless the ability requires discarding that particular Race or Class). Curses that remain on the table in front of you cannot be discarded. Item cards are the only cards that can be traded, and, as long as they aren't prevented from being discarded (say, by a Curse), can only be discarded in the following ways:
- As part of a sale (but only if you have enough to buy at least 1 level)
- To power a special ability of a Class/Race or another card
- To fulfill the requirements of Bad Stuff or a Curse/Trap
- The Item is Big and you MUST get rid of it (e.g., because your Hireling died or you are no longer a Dwarf), and there is no one who can take it
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 01:27 PM   #7
Anumari
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Re: Discarding before death

Thanks!!! some friends (in particularly one) probably won't take a liking to this.
Anumari is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.