Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2013, 08:15 AM   #1
ken
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default What can you lay in front of you?

Earlier I asked how many items can you carry and the answer was unlimited except: only one big item (except for dwarves); you can only use/wear one hat, one suit of armor, two hands, etc. But otherwise if it's an item you can lay it down, side-ways if necessary.

So what counts as an item. Curses and Monsters I get. 'Go up a Level' not an item. Swords, potions, anything that you can sell, i.e. has a gold value? So I couldn't lay down a +10 Monster Intelligence???
ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 09:25 AM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: What can you lay in front of you?

As it says in the FAQ, Items are those with a Gold Piece Value or "No Value" at the bottom.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 09:45 AM   #3
ken
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: What can you lay in front of you?

And only those types of cards (items) can be placed in front of you?
ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 09:56 AM   #4
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: What can you lay in front of you?

Cards are played as appropriate.
You can carry items, but you can also play classes, races, character modifiers, steeds, hirelings, and modifiers for any of those.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 09:59 AM   #5
ken
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: What can you lay in front of you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
Cards are played as appropriate.
You can carry items, but you can also play classes, races, character modifiers, steeds, hirelings, and modifiers for any of those.
I'm not sure we are on the same page. Are you saying that I can play +10 Monster Intelligence simply by laying it down in front of me and turning it sideways; then using when I need/want to?

I'm talking about playing/carrying items. Sorry I should have been more clear.
ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 11:03 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: What can you lay in front of you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken View Post
Are you saying that I can play +10 Monster Intelligence simply by laying it down in front of me and turning it sideways; then using when I need/want to?
No, you cannot.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 11:06 AM   #7
ken
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: What can you lay in front of you?

Thank you Andrew,

Happy holidays to you and everyone at SJ Games.
ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 11:09 AM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: What can you lay in front of you?

To be completely clear, the ONLY kind of card that you can have "in reserve" -- i.e., on the table and not in use -- is an Item, a card with a Gold Piece value on it.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 11:09 AM   #9
ken
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: What can you lay in front of you?

Andrew:

P.S. a couple of quick (I hope quick) questions

- Is there a reason to put a 'One Shot' item in front of you other than the 5 card limit for your hand?
- You can only trade items that are in front of you, i.e. not in your hand, so you couldn't give away the +10 Monster Intelligence or a monster, etc... Correct?
ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 11:15 AM   #10
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: What can you lay in front of you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken View Post
Is there a reason to put a 'One Shot' item in front of you other than the 5 card limit for your hand?
That's the main one, but also because there may be a tactical reason to let the other players know that you have a big one-shot bonus, or you have a Wishing Ring so they may decide to curse someone else.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken View Post
You can only trade items that are in front of you, i.e. not in your hand, so you couldn't give away the +10 Monster Intelligence or a monster, etc... Correct?
Exactly.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.