Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2013, 01:06 PM   #1
MrMooky
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default What happens when two players die?

1. How is it handled when 2 players die in the same combat? For instance, my son was helping me fight a monster, and someone wandered in a Motorcycle Gang. We didn't have the power to defeat both monsters. Who rolls to run first? If we both fail to run from the biker gang and we both die, are we dying at the same time, or would whoever rolled first die first? Would he participate in looting my body and me his since we died?

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 12-25-2013 at 01:41 PM.
MrMooky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 02:04 PM   #2
Eben
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Dakota
Default Re: What happens when two players die?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMooky View Post
1. How is it handled when 2 players die in the same combat? For instance, my son was helping me fight a monster, and someone wandered in a Motorcycle Gang. We didn't have the power to defeat both monsters. Who rolls to run first? If we both fail to run from the biker gang and we both die, are we dying at the same time, or would whoever rolled first die first? Would he participate in looting my body and me his since we died?
The player whose turn it is rolls first. Then the helper.

Looting the body happens after both players roll.

Death occcurs at the same time.

If you both die, then neither of you can loot any bodies.
__________________
MIB 7483
Center Point, AL
Eben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 02:11 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: What happens when two players die?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eben View Post
The player whose turn it is rolls first. Then the helper.

Looting the body happens after both players roll.

Death occcurs at the same time.

If you both die, then neither of you can loot any bodies.
Every part of this answer is incorrect.

The order is not set -- it's up to the people running away to decide who runs first. If they can't decide, roll off, high roller decides the order.

You loot a body as soon as a munchkin dies. A player who still has to roll to run away can still loot a body.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 02:12 PM   #4
Eben
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Dakota
Default Re: What happens when two players die?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Every part of this answer is incorrect.

The order is not set -- it's up to the people running away to decide who runs first. If they can't decide, roll off, high roller decides the order.

You loot a body as soon as a munchkin dies. A player who still has to roll to run away can still loot a body.
Sorry. I've been doing it wrong then.
__________________
MIB 7483
Center Point, AL
Eben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 02:32 PM   #5
MrMooky
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Re: What happens when two players die?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Every part of this answer is incorrect.

The order is not set -- it's up to the people running away to decide who runs first. If they can't decide, roll off, high roller decides the order.

You loot a body as soon as a munchkin dies. A player who still has to roll to run away can still loot a body.
So if the first player to roll dies, the second person running away, who hasn't rolled yet, gets to loot his body?

If the first player dies. His body is looted, then the second player dies, does the first player get to participate in looting the body? Or is he unable to receive cards due to being dead? I believe he wouldn't be able to receive any cards until the next players turn, since that's when he comes back to life. Is that correct?
MrMooky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 05:01 PM   #6
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: What happens when two players die?

If both players die, the first one could not loot the second because the first is still dead, and cannot receive any cards until he returns to life at the beginning of the next player's turn.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 08:07 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: What happens when two players die?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
If both players die, the first one could not loot the second because the first is still dead, and cannot receive any cards until he returns to life at the beginning of the next player's turn.
This is correct.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.