Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2013, 11:57 PM   #1
Fate
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Magic Lamp Ruling

Magic Lamp states that you can vanish a Monster EVEN if you failed your escape roll.
But because of the way the description is written.
Can the card still be used to gain the treasures after successfully running away? I realize that if we ignore the escape attempt, magic lamp works fine but our house rules are once you take an action you can't undo it. So would the lamp still be playable in the following example.
Ex.
Player 1 Kicks down door and finds potted plant
Player 2 plays illusion replacing monster with Plutonium Dragon.
Player 1 rolls a 6 successfully escaping, then plays magic lamp to collect treasures.
Fate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 04:30 AM   #2
morleydotes
Moderator Emeritus
 
morleydotes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Salem, OR.
Default Re: Magic Lamp Ruling

No, because the card specially states ONE monster. The example that you have given, you have escaped from two monsters. The second half of the card covers that. "If it was the ONLY monster that you faced". (Caps mine).

Pat
__________________
Salem Midnight Crew / MIB 1987 Or the Wrong MIB. Salem Cell leader, for the clueless in Oregon.
Ahhhh... I see the Screw-Up Fairy has visited us again.
Closed Captioned for the Humor Impaired
morleydotes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 07:52 AM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Magic Lamp Ruling

To answer the more basic question: if you play Magic Lamp after failing to Run Away from a single monster, yes, you do get its Treasure.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 10:00 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Magic Lamp Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by morleydotes View Post
No, because the card specially states ONE monster. The example that you have given, you have escaped from two monsters. The second half of the card covers that. "If it was the ONLY monster that you faced". (Caps mine).

Pat
What two Monsters? Potted Plant is replaced with Plutonium Dragon. There is only one Monster.

However, the answer is still "No" since you've already escaped from the Monster, so it is gone. Since it's gone, you could not possibly play a card on it to affect it.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 10:55 AM   #5
Fate
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Re: Magic Lamp Ruling

Thank you MunchkinMan for clarifying the issue. Due to the wording of the card we had a major dispute on it but now that's its clarified we can go on playing knowing that it can't be used that way.
Fate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
magic lamp, rules clarification, run away

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.