Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Ogre and G.E.V.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2013, 09:15 AM   #1
Ulzgoroth
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Mounted infantry, overruns, and ramming

Per 5.11.3, infantry may not dismount from a vehicle the same turn as it embarks.

It's not specifically noted, but it seems to follow that that would include dismounting for an overrun per 8.06.1. Is this correct?

This led me to the question: what happens to infantry if their mount rams or is rammed?

Being rammed by a GEV is treated as an attack, so it would fall under the usual rules for attacking a vehicle with riders. But armor carrying infantry can also be rammed and instantly killed by Ogres, or suicidally ram Ogres. Infantry can also potentially ride on rule 13.07 superheavies or Ogres.
__________________
I don't know any 3e, so there is no chance that I am talking about 3e rules by accident.
Ulzgoroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 06:45 AM   #2
GoatRider
 
GoatRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Default Re: Mounted infantry, overruns, and ramming

Depends on whether they're wearing their seatbelts.

Actually, I got nothing.
__________________
- Benton
GoatRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 07:46 AM   #3
Qthulhu
 
Qthulhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: Mounted infantry, overruns, and ramming

I've got to wonder why you would climb into a vehicle when the driver intends to ram an Ogre?
__________________
MIG 00002
Qthulhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 08:49 AM   #4
ColBosch
 
ColBosch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Default Re: Mounted infantry, overruns, and ramming

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qthulhu View Post
I've got to wonder why you would climb into a vehicle when the driver intends to ram an Ogre?
That's a fair point. While Ogre lacks "morale" rules, it does mention at least one case where something is theoretically possible but nobody would do it except under extreme (read: scenario-specific) circumstances: infantry riding Ogres.
ColBosch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 10:29 AM   #5
Suboptimal00
 
Suboptimal00's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Kansas
Default Re: Mounted infantry, overruns, and ramming

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qthulhu View Post
I've got to wonder why you would climb into a vehicle when the driver intends to ram an Ogre?
While that sounds like a terrible idea for an unarmed human, so is being on the map. Power-armored infantry, though, could potentially take a ride until very close and capitalize on the distraction of the Ogre's point defense.
Suboptimal00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 11:13 AM   #6
shadowjack
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Endor
Default Re: Mounted infantry, overruns, and ramming

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulzgoroth View Post
Per 5.11.3, infantry may not dismount from a vehicle the same turn as it embarks.

It's not specifically noted, but it seems to follow that that would include dismounting for an overrun per 8.06.1. Is this correct?
Hmm.

As I see it, the point of the "no mounting and dismounting in the same turn" rule is to stop infantry from getting an instant six-hex strike distance via GEV catapult. It seems fair to apply this to overruns, too. So, I would say yes, the rule applies. If you want your infantry to be able to bail out properly, make sure you take a turn to form up before charging.

Quote:
This led me to the question: what happens to infantry if their mount rams or is rammed?
8.05.3 says that rams in overrun have normal effects, and 6.07 says that infantry cannot be rammed. I would rule that riders jump clear at the last moment, and are not harmed by the collision with their mount; they are simply dismounted automatically, overriding rule 5.11.3. (I doubt this is unbalancing; who's going to base a strategy about wrecking their own armor units just to let their infantry dismount in overrun? Other than Launchpad McQuack, that is.) While passengers inside a truck are trapped, and are destroyed with the transporting vehicle; sucks to be ambushed.
shadowjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 11:42 AM   #7
StormCrow42
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Concord, NC
Default Re: Mounted infantry, overruns, and ramming

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowjack View Post
As I see it, the point of the "no mounting and dismounting in the same turn" rule is to stop infantry from getting an instant six-hex strike distance via GEV catapult.
It was originally thought up (if I recall message board discussions right) as the way to prevent the "I unmount at the end of my turn and then mount up again" exploit that lets you never have mounted infantry on your opponent's turn when he can shoot at you.

But yes, I think the answer is that they continue to get attacked as if mounted. I'd say they're destroyed in a ram, if you take mounted infantry into an overrun with an Ogre, you deserve to have some of them squished.
__________________
Scott K. Ellis
StormCrow42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 11:50 AM   #8
Ulzgoroth
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Re: Mounted infantry, overruns, and ramming

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qthulhu View Post
I've got to wonder why you would climb into a vehicle when the driver intends to ram an Ogre?
If you're initiating an overrun against an Ogre, you'll have to be lucky for the suicidal inclinations of your driver to matter!
__________________
I don't know any 3e, so there is no chance that I am talking about 3e rules by accident.
Ulzgoroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 01:00 PM   #9
GranitePenguin
 
GranitePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: Mounted infantry, overruns, and ramming

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulzgoroth View Post
Per 5.11.3, infantry may not dismount from a vehicle the same turn as it embarks.

It's not specifically noted, but it seems to follow that that would include dismounting for an overrun per 8.06.1. Is this correct?
I believe this is correct. 8.06.1 just says that INF can dismount for an overrun; it does not override 5.11.3. A practical way to look at it is, if you are planning to carry INF into an overrun, you should really be planning it out properly. I have a feeling, however, that 8.06.1 was intended to be an exception to 5.11.3. Overruns are meant to be close-quarters mid-movement conflicts. It makes sense that INF would be able to ditch in a micro skirmish. It's also worth noting that 5.11.3's restriction on dismounting on the same turn is new. GEV rules as recent as 2000 did not include this, which means it was not necessary to reconcile before then.
A FAQ or errata is really needed for clarification.

Quote:
This led me to the question: what happens to infantry if their mount rams or is rammed?

Being rammed by a GEV is treated as an attack, so it would fall under the usual rules for attacking a vehicle with riders. But armor carrying infantry can also be rammed and instantly killed by Ogres, or suicidally ram Ogres. Infantry can also potentially ride on rule 13.07 superheavies or Ogres.
This really goes back to my comment about INF expecting to dismount during an overrun. Assuming they can, there is little logical reason to stay mounted other than being able to continue riding afterward (assuming they survive, which is unlikely if they stay mounted). There should actually be an errata added to spell out how ramming is handled in Overruns, because the ramming rules in 6.00 are actually meant to be replaced by overrun rules, not used in conjunction with them:
Ramming takes place during the movement phase. Players should decide in advance whether they will use the (fast, simple) Ramming rules here, intended for games in which only one unit normally occupies each hex, or the (more realistic and complex) Overrun Combat rules described in Section 8. Do not use both!
That obviously is impossible, because the only place that discusses how to resolve rams (size charts, details, etc) is in 6.00
It's also notable that ramming units that have INF riding isn't covered in either case (or ever have, for that matter). :-(

I think logically, INF riding a unit that is ramming suffers the same fate as the unit. HVY with INF rams Ogre = HVY and INF are dead, etc.
__________________
GranitePenguin
MIB #2214
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 01:02 PM   #10
Qthulhu
 
Qthulhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: Mounted infantry, overruns, and ramming

From my reading, in both situations it's hard luck for the infantry as the movement rules would take priority over the overrun rules.

You could justify basic self-preservation as an in-universe explanation for why your men could dismount despite mounting in the same turn, but you would still come back it being a way to fudge the rules to allow your troops to almost fly around the map.

If we assume that the in-universe reason they cannot dismount in the turn they mount is because they're securing themselves on the vehicle, then the in-universe explanation for why they cannot bail is because they've only just secured themselves when they notice the driver is ramming for the greater good. Too late to bail. SPLAT.
__________________
MIG 00002
Qthulhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.