Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2013, 11:27 AM   #1
zombiekillin
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Default trading

When it is your turn what cards can you trade? Cards from your hand or in play? Can cards be traded from your backpack? I'm having a little trouble understanding
zombiekillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 11:39 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: trading

You can trade only Items in play. You can never trade non-Item cards, and you can never trade cards from your hand.

(Charity is different -- you can give any cards from your hand that you want as Charity if you need to get down to five cards. I mention this because some people seem to think Charity and trading use the same rules. They do not.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 11:41 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: trading

There is no term "backpack" in the game, so I'm going to ignore that word, since I have no clue what you mean by it. We have, quite honestly, seen 3 to 4 different definitions of that term in the past, so in the interest of not confusing other new players, I would also ask that you not use that term on these forums in the future.

You're not limited to trading during your turn, but the only thing you can trade are carried Items. That is to say, all the Items you currently have in play, even the ones you are using. If it is your turn and you are not in combat, you could play an Item from your hand to carry it and then trade it with another player, but you could not otherwise trade from cards in your hand.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.