Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2013, 07:33 PM   #1
Beardedsteve
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Default BSing the GM question

(sorry to be a big noob) had this come up in a game tonight...game ended on it...wanted to know who was right.


Person 1 kicks the door down with 9 points. They get a weak enemy. Some curses are thrown. Then person 2 throws a +2 to enemy card. He had BSing the GM. The card says to be used the player must be in combat. Now, the debate was....is throwing a +2 card in...entering combat? Or is it something else? We ended up saying that BSing the enemy could not be used (I was the voice in support of it being used lol) and the game was won on a sour note. Was I wrong? Was tossing the +2 card in *NOT* entering combat? He was the first person to add stats to the enemy card. Anyway thanks a bunch...so sorry if this was asked already. Still new to the game and having a blast. Did a Google search and found nothing on the issue. Any input would be appreciated.
Beardedsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 07:50 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: BSing the GM question

I'm sure it's been answered numerous times, but I'm not finding this an easy search, so I wouldn't worry if you couldn't find it. Anyway, to be in the combat, you must either be the player whose turn it is, or the player whom that player enlisted to be a helper. Playing a Monster Enhancer on a Monster or playing a one-shot Item to either side does not constitute helping or being in the combat.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 07:50 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: BSing the GM question

Are you sure that is the correct card title? I'm not sure which one you mean.

However, from the description, it seems to be that you are asking whether you are in a combat if you play a "+2 to either side" card to help the enemies. The answer to that is that you are not in combat if that is all you are doing. The only players that are in combat are the player who started fighting the monster and that player's helper if he has one. Other players may play cards into the combat, but they are not considered 'in combat'.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 07:53 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: BSing the GM question

The card title is Call BS On GM.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.