Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2013, 12:22 PM   #1
DavidWCooney
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Default Hirelings carry AND use one extra item

From Munchkin 1: "Allow you to carry and use one extra item, even if you could not otherwise."

So, I tried to find the answer to this by searching the forums, but I couldn't find it.

Since there is no real limit on the number of small items a player can carry, and since I've seen several descriptions in the forum that the original hireling is essentially a cheat card, am I correct in interpreting that the Hireling allows me to have an extra big item?
DavidWCooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 12:41 PM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Hirelings carry AND use one extra item

Yes. The original Hireling can carry and use any one item, including a Big one.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:26 PM   #3
DavidWCooney
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Default Re: Hirelings carry AND use one extra item

Thanks for the clarification.
DavidWCooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 10:04 PM   #4
lexavian
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Hirelings carry AND use one extra item

I was also wondering, I have seen many questions about other hirelings using race/class specific/prohibited item. The ruling in those threads seemed to be that unless if a hireling was a specific class or race, they could use items that were not exclusive to a caste but they could use item that were exclusive from a single caste. Is the Munchkin 1 hireling the exception?
lexavian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 10:56 PM   #5
six's monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Default Re: Hirelings carry AND use one extra item

I don't think hirelings allow a -second- big item, but I've been wrong before.
six's monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 10:58 PM   #6
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Hirelings carry AND use one extra item

Ye, it differs from the Class/Race Hirelings in that respect. The same Hireling also appears in Munchkin 3, Munchkin Legends and Munchkin Pathfinder.

six's monkey, all Hirelings that can carry an Item can carry a Big Item for you (unless they state they can only carry small Items). They are the one carrying the second Big Item, hence you are still only carrying one Big Item.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 03:52 AM   #7
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Hirelings carry AND use one extra item

Let's not try to invent new language for describing things in the game, especially in the 101 forum. There are no "castes" in the game, and using that term can only lead to confusing new players, since it exists nowhere in the rules, nor in the FAQ, nor on any card.

A Race/Class-based Hireling can typically carry and use one Item usable by its Race/Class and gender. This includes Items that have no restrictions. As the Hireling is carrying the Item, that means it could be Big, even if you are already carrying a Big Item.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.