Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2013, 12:26 PM   #1
Atratus333
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default What happens when you killing a Monster only to have to face a new Wandering Monster?

Okay. So what happens in this scenario? For lack of a ruling I lost a game of Conan. I was level 9 fighting a level 1 and played Smoke that Strangles, defeating the level 1. Someone then wandered in a monster of a higher level that I was unable to beat and had to run away from. Nothing was played that made me lose a level nor was the bad stuff lose a level. Do I not get the level for defeating the level 1? If I do get the level would I have to wait till the start of my next turn to claim victory?
Atratus333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 03:01 PM   #2
GranitePenguin
 
GranitePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: What happens when you killing a Monster only to have to face a new Wandering Mons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atratus333 View Post
Okay. So what happens in this scenario? For lack of a ruling I lost a game of Conan. I was level 9 fighting a level 1 and played Smoke that Strangles, defeating the level 1. Someone then wandered in a monster of a higher level that I was unable to beat and had to run away from. Nothing was played that made me lose a level nor was the bad stuff lose a level. Do I not get the level for defeating the level 1? If I do get the level would I have to wait till the start of my next turn to claim victory?
I am assuming the order of events went something like this:
1. Combat the level 1
2. Defeat the level 1
3. Within a "reasonable amount if time" ie, roughly 2.6 seconds, wandering monster was played.

If that is the case, then you did not win the combat and the results are correct. Until you pass the "reasonable amount if time", you haven't really won the combat yet and can't claim victory.
__________________
GranitePenguin
MIB #2214
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 03:35 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: What happens when you killing a Monster only to have to face a new Wandering Mons

Quote:
Originally Posted by GranitePenguin View Post
3. Within a "reasonable amount if time" ie, roughly 2.6 seconds, wandering monster was played.
"Roughly 2.6 seconds" is inaccurate. That part of the rule is a joke. Each group must define "reasonable time" for itself -- but if you do a SLOW count of "one . . . two . . . two point six," that gives everyone a chance to say "Stop!" and do something. (I've found, in watching groups play, that the length of seconds changes dramatically when you are in the combat and trying to stop it.)

BTW, we changed the time in Munchkin Pathfinder as a metajoke. Now I'm leaning toward changing it in every set from now on, just to drive home the fact that it's not the precise number of seconds that matters, it's the "reasonable time."
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 03:37 PM   #4
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: What happens when you killing a Monster only to have to face a new Wandering Mons

Yep, notice that the box on the first page of the rules that lists the rules that can't be broken unless explicitly stated on a card include:

Quote:
3. You cannot collect rewards for defeating a monster (e.g., Treasure, levels) in the middle of a combat. You must finish the fight before gaining any rewards.
In this case, you didn't finish the fight by beating the first monster. The fight was continued by the addition of the second monster. Thus, you don't get any rewards, as per the above rule.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 04:07 PM   #5
GranitePenguin
 
GranitePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: What happens when you killing a Monster only to have to face a new Wandering Mons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
"Roughly 2.6 seconds" is inaccurate. That part of the rule is a joke. Each group must define "reasonable time" for itself -- but if you do a SLOW count of "one . . . two . . . two point six," that gives everyone a chance to say "Stop!" and do something. (I've found, in watching groups play, that the length of seconds changes dramatically when you are in the combat and trying to stop it.)

BTW, we changed the time in Munchkin Pathfinder as a metajoke. Now I'm leaning toward changing it in every set from now on, just to drive home the fact that it's not the precise number of seconds that matters, it's the "reasonable time."
I know it's a joke. I thought i emphasized the "reasonable time" enough; guess I failed. My post just didn't adequately convey my intent to use the joke. Reading the rules is quite the exercise in identifying humor. :-)
__________________
GranitePenguin
MIB #2214
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 01:31 PM   #6
anthooony
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: What happens when you killing a Monster only to have to face a new Wandering Mons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
Yep, notice that the box on the first page of the rules that lists the rules that can't be broken unless explicitly stated on a card include:



In this case, you didn't finish the fight by beating the first monster. The fight was continued by the addition of the second monster. Thus, you don't get any rewards, as per the above rule.

Lets say that a helper during someone's combat is a Wizard and they were fighting multiple monsters in the combat, the helper charmed one of the Monsters, does he/she get to retrieve their treasures right after charming it or would they have to wait to kill the remaining monsters in order to receive their treasures?
anthooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 02:03 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: What happens when you killing a Monster only to have to face a new Wandering Mons

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthooony View Post
Lets say that a helper during someone's combat is a Wizard and they were fighting multiple monsters in the combat, the helper charmed one of the Monsters, does he/she get to retrieve their treasures right after charming it or would they have to wait to kill the remaining monsters in order to receive their treasures?
NO ONE gets rewards until the fight is over and all monsters are defeated.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 02:21 PM   #8
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: What happens when you killing a Monster only to have to face a new Wandering Mons

Also, the Wizard helper only gets whatever Treasure he negotiated for, not all the Treasures from the Monster he charmed.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 02:42 PM   #9
anthooony
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: What happens when you killing a Monster only to have to face a new Wandering Mons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
NO ONE gets rewards until the fight is over and all monsters are defeated.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Also, the Wizard helper only gets whatever Treasure he negotiated for, not all the Treasures from the Monster he charmed.
Awesome! Thanks you guys!!
anthooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.