Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2013, 11:56 AM   #1
Blaise
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Hireling questions (sacrifice and items)

Hi! New to the game here. We love it and the whole family plays. :D

I have two questions about Hirelings:

1) In the rules insert, it says that you can sacrifice a hireling if you lose a fight. Does it count as running away? Or does it count as death to the hireling? Several cards have text that says something happens if you run away, etc. For example:

My son ran into the "Wight Brothers" and it says "Higher level characters lose 2 levels, even if they escape." He could not beat them and wanted to use his hireling. Does he lose 2 levels? Or does the hireling take the hit?

2) We are a little confused about hirelings using items. The card says any item that is legal for an elf (halfling, etc.) to use. At the risk of making this more confusing, that means the elf hireling can use any item unless it specifically says not for elves correct?
Blaise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:11 PM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Hireling questions (sacrifice and items)

1. Sacrificing your hireling allows you to run away successfully, without having to roll the dice. Running away successfully still results in losing levels to the Wight Brothers.

2. The Elf Hireling can use any one item that is not forbidden to an elf -- such as when the item says it cannot be used by elves, or can only be used by another race.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 03:35 PM   #3
DoomedDuck
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Macon, GA
Default Re: Hireling questions (sacrifice and items)

Also, other Thingie restricted items (class, mojo, accent, etc.) such as "Usable by Warrior only" are not usable by an elf hireling, as they are assumed to have only a race (or class if it is a Warrior Hireling, etc.)

Edit: By the way, Mojos and Accents are used in Munchkin Zombies and Munchkin Booty, respectively, as a replacement of sorts for races/classes. Wasn't trying to confuse anyone that wasn't familiar with other sets.

Last edited by DoomedDuck; 08-24-2013 at 03:43 PM.
DoomedDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 03:58 PM   #4
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Hireling questions (sacrifice and items)

And to sacrifice a Hireling, you discard the card. If the Hireling can carry and Item, said Item is lost, as per the rules.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 06:07 PM   #5
Blaise
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Hireling questions (sacrifice and items)

Thank you!
Blaise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 07:41 AM   #6
Olin Froid
 
Olin Froid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Default Re: Hireling questions (sacrifice and items)

Can you sacrifice a hireling to add another recently drawn hireling into play? Or do you have to give him as charity before replacing him?
__________________
MiB in the Toledo, OH area-check out my posts for upcoming events!
Olin Froid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 08:37 AM   #7
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Hireling questions (sacrifice and items)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olin Froid View Post
Can you sacrifice a hireling to add another recently drawn hireling into play? Or do you have to give him as charity before replacing him?
The Hireling rules state that you can discard a Hireling at any time, so yes, you could discard one to play another one. If s/he was holding an Item, you get to keep it in this case too. You definitely can't give one in play away as Charity as it is not in your hand, so doesn't count towards you hand limit. You also can't give a Hireling on the table to another player unless the Hireling is also an Item (some of the Sidekicks in Super Munchkin are).
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hireling, sacrifice

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.