Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2013, 01:57 PM   #11
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Visual of Player's Setup

You can use one-shots from your hand or from the table. It says so in the rules. You are right that you may only USE one headgear/footgear/armor at a time, but you may carry as many as you want as long as honey aren't big
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 03:59 PM   #12
anthooony
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Visual of Player's Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bampop View Post
You can use one-shots from your hand or from the table. It says so in the rules. You are right that you may only USE one headgear/footgear/armor at a time, but you may carry as many as you want as long as honey aren't big
Oh ok. Because I think MunchkinMan stated that you can only use One-Shot Items if they were in your hand to actually use them during a combat and if they aren't in your hand, I am guessing you cannot use them? Sorry, I am getting confused now haha.
anthooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 06:47 PM   #13
StormCrow42
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Concord, NC
Default Re: Visual of Player's Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthooony View Post
Oh ok. Because I think MunchkinMan stated that you can only use One-Shot Items if they were in your hand to actually use them during a combat and if they aren't in your hand, I am guessing you cannot use them? Sorry, I am getting confused now haha.
One shot items can be used in a combat either from your hand or from the table. When you're in combat, the only items that are valid to play are one-shots, and those only to actually effect the combat. You can't, for instance, play a weapon to replace the one that someone just cursed away while you're in combat.
__________________
Scott K. Ellis
StormCrow42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 09:58 PM   #14
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Visual of Player's Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthooony View Post
Oh ok. Because I think MunchkinMan stated that you can only use One-Shot Items if they were in your hand to actually use them during a combat and if they aren't in your hand, I am guessing you cannot use them? Sorry, I am getting confused now haha.
That is not what I said at all. What I said is that you can't play Items that are not one shot Items from your hand during combat. What your layout implies is that you can only play Items that you can use from your hand during combat, which is incorrect. You can play one shot Items to any combat (or when appropriate) from your hand or from Items you are carrying because the rules explicitly say so. They also explicitly say you can only put Items in play to the table during your turn when you are not in combat.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 08-18-2013 at 10:02 PM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:35 PM   #15
anthooony
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Visual of Player's Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
That is not what I said at all. What I said is that you can't play Items that are not one shot Items from your hand during combat. What your layout implies is that you can only play Items that you can use from your hand during combat, which is incorrect. You can play one shot Items to any combat (or when appropriate) from your hand or from Items you are carrying because the rules explicitly say so. They also explicitly say you can only put Items in play to the table during your turn when you are not in combat.
o0o0o. Sorry for the miscommunication there. I guess I misread your reply. And I don't think I stated in my visual that a player can only use Items they are from their hand during combat. Under the "Carried: Other" section, I mention that you can use those items on the table or in the hand and that they "can" be played during combat not have to only.

But aside from the mishap, I wanted to know if the layout in general is correct and everything looks good as to where it should be. Again, I apologize if there were any confusion with my layout.
anthooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:51 PM   #16
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Visual of Player's Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthooony View Post
o0o0o. Sorry for the miscommunication there. I guess I misread your reply. And I don't think I stated in my visual that a player can only use Items they are from their hand during combat. Under the "Carried: Other" section, I mention that you can use those items on the table or in the hand and that they "can" be played during combat not have to only.

But aside from the mishap, I wanted to know if the layout in general is correct and everything looks good as to where it should be. Again, I apologize if there were any confusion with my layout.
Again: You can not play Items that are not one-shot Items when you are in combat, and your visual layout and your statement above both imply that. Heavily.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.