Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2013, 06:12 PM   #1
anthooony
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Discarding Cards Question

I am sure this has been addressed in some way, but I'm really not looking forward on going through tons of pages worth of posts to find the answer.

My question is:
When a player is done Fighting a Monster/Looting The Room and they have 6+ cards, can they just discard cards to get down to 5 or do they have to go through the Charity Phase and pass cards down to the lowest-level? I know the rule is "You cannot discard cards just because" but in this case, you are discarding cause you have too many cards so that counts, right?

Any insight is helpful, thanks!
anthooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 06:32 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Discarding Cards Question

The only time you have to discard cards is when you are ready to end your turn. Your turn doesn't immediately end after combat, either. Thus, you can play the cards you received from the combat, such as playing some Items you want to start carrying to the table, in order to reduce your hand size before the end of your turn.

Once you are done playing cards, you end your turn by going to Charity. This is the only time you are forced to reduce your hand size and you do so by giving excess cards to the lowest level player/s or discarding them instead if you are already lowest-Level.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 06:34 PM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Discarding Cards Question

If charity could be avoided because you just wanted to discard cards in the middle of your turn, then it wouldn't have to exist. The whole point of the hand limit is this: At the end of your turn, you must have 5 cards or less. It's not that at any given time you must have 5 cards or less. This means that, during your turn, you can play any cards, legally of course, until you've run out of things you can (or want) to do. At that point, if you're over 5 cards, you must give the excess away unless you're lowest (or tied for lowest) level, at which point you can discard the excess. So, no, you can't just discard cards with the excuse that you have to get your hand size down because it doesn't matter until you've decided that your turn is over, at which point you enter the Charity phase.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 09:08 PM   #4
anthooony
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Discarding Cards Question

Awesome! Thanks so much guys!!!
anthooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 12:54 PM   #5
anthooony
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Discarding Cards Question

One more thing...

During the Charity Phase, cards that must be passed on to the lowest-level are Monsters/GUAL/Curses/Class/Race/Super Munchkin/Half-Breed cards, correct? And not items that are carried/turned sideways? Thank you for the great replies so far!

Last edited by anthooony; 08-16-2013 at 01:36 PM.
anthooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 01:11 PM   #6
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Discarding Cards Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthooony View Post
One more thing...

During the Charity Phase, cards that must be passed on to the lowest-level are Monsters/GUAL/Curses/Class/Race/Super Munchkin/Half-Breed cards, correct? And not items that are carried/"in the backpack"? Thank you for the great replies so far!
Any card at all that is in your hand. You are getting your HAND down to size. The excess cards that you pass along can be anything at all that is still in your hand when you reach the Charity phase.
Mister Ed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 01:14 PM   #7
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Discarding Cards Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthooony View Post
One more thing...

During the Charity Phase, cards that must be passed on to the lowest-level are Monsters/GUAL/Curses/Class/Race/Super Munchkin/Half-Breed cards, correct? And not items that are carried/"in the backpack"? Thank you for the great replies so far!
There is no "backpack" in Munchkin, and we ask everyone to not use that term here since everyone else seems to have some different interpretation of the term. If you could edit your post to say exactly what you meant, in game terms, that would be extremely helpful.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 01:36 PM   #8
anthooony
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Discarding Cards Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
There is no "backpack" in Munchkin, and we ask everyone to not use that term here since everyone else seems to have some different interpretation of the term. If you could edit your post to say exactly what you meant, in game terms, that would be extremely helpful.
Sorry about that. Updated!
anthooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 01:37 PM   #9
anthooony
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Discarding Cards Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Ed View Post
Any card at all that is in your hand. You are getting your HAND down to size. The excess cards that you pass along can be anything at all that is still in your hand when you reach the Charity phase.
Oh ok. Cool! Thanks for the heads up!
anthooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.