Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2013, 06:01 PM   #1
Omelethead
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Doppelganger

Just a few questions on Doppelganger, from the original Munchkin game:

It says it summons a duplicate to fight alongside you for one combat. Does this "clone" update/sync itself with you during combat? Specifically, if a Thief backstabs you after you've played Doppelganger, does your clone get backstabbed, or does the Thief have to discard another card to backstab the clone? Can a Thief backstab a Doppelganger?

If you were, say, a Dwarf and summoned your Doppelganger, and then was cursed with Lose Your Race, which made some of your gear unusable, does the Doppelganger stay as what it was when it was summoned, or does the curse and loss of items affect it too?

Can a Warrior Berserk and then play Doppelganger to get +6? If he Berserk-ed after playing Doppelganger, does/can he still get +6? Would it take 6 cards if it wasn't done prior to playing Doppelganger? (Ditto for the Cleric vs Undead Monsters)

If you beat Pukuchu without using help or bonuses, you get an extra level, but does using a Doppelganger (and just doubling your Level) count as a helper?
Omelethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 06:23 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Doppelganger

All of your questions are answered by the following statement: The Doppleganger is your exact copy, and gives you a bonus that mirrors your current combat strength. That means any change to you will be reflected by your Doppleganger. And, since it's a bonus, you can't use it to get an extra Level from Pukachu. And, since it's an Item providing a combat bonus, a Thief can't backstab it.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 06:26 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Doppelganger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omelethead View Post
Just a few questions on Doppelganger, from the original Munchkin game:

It says it summons a duplicate to fight alongside you for one combat. Does this "clone" update/sync itself with you during combat? Specifically, if a Thief backstabs you after you've played Doppelganger, does your clone get backstabbed, or does the Thief have to discard another card to backstab the clone? Can a Thief backstab a Doppelganger?
Yes, it does continue to double your bonus, so a Thief can Backstab once and make your combat strength drop by 4. The Thief cannot Backstab the clone separately to this.

Quote:
If you were, say, a Dwarf and summoned your Doppelganger, and then was cursed with Lose Your Race, which made some of your gear unusable, does the Doppelganger stay as what it was when it was summoned, or does the curse and loss of items affect it too?
As it is a copy, your Doppleganger also loses the bonus.

Quote:
Can a Warrior Berserk and then play Doppelganger to get +6? If he Berserk-ed after playing Doppelganger, does/can he still get +6? Would it take 6 cards if it wasn't done prior to playing Doppelganger? (Ditto for the Cleric vs Undead Monsters)
It would take three cards and you would get +6 whether you used Berserking before or after Doppleganger is played.

Quote:
If you beat Pukuchu without using help or bonuses, you get an extra level, but does using a Doppelganger (and just doubling your Level) count as a helper?
It doesn't count as a helper, but it also doesn't double your Level. It gives you a bonus equal to your Level. So your base Level still needs to be higher than Pukachu's combat strength to get the extra level.

Edit: Ah, beaten... still, at least we fully agree!
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 08:38 PM   #4
Omelethead
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Doppelganger

Alright, thanks. I figured that was the case, based off of how the Mate card works. But it made for an interesting argument. :)

Another question: If someone is using Doppelganger, can they "turn it off" and discard it in order to let a helper join them in combat? Or are they stuck fighting alongside themself?
Omelethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 08:58 PM   #5
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Doppelganger

Yes, if you are losing the combat even with your Doppleganger, you are still eligible to ask for help. If you get a helper, the Doppleganger is discarded. Here's a link to an official ruling.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
doppelganger

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.