Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2013, 10:18 AM   #1
beefsteak
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default Thief's Steal

Hi! Can the thief discard a stolen item to use his steal ability again? I got confused because when I searched for answers, some say he can, some say he has to discard from his hand.
beefsteak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 11:42 AM   #2
StormCrow42
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Concord, NC
Default Re: Thief's Steal

The thief can discard cards in hand, or in their possession in play to power their theft ability.
__________________
Scott K. Ellis
StormCrow42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 12:43 PM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Thief's Steal

Quote:
Originally Posted by beefsteak View Post
Hi! Can the thief discard a stolen item to use his steal ability again? I got confused because when I searched for answers, some say he can, some say he has to discard from his hand.
I'm not sure who may have said that, but I can assure you that it wasn't Andrew or me, and we're the ones who deliver the official rulings.

At any rate, the rules actually say that you may discard a card from those you have in play or from your hand to power a class ability that requires a discard (like the Thief's theft ability). Since the rules say that cards override the rules, certain Classes specify from where cards can be discarded (for example, the Cleric may only discard cards from his hand for his resurrection ability, and the Wizard must discard his entire hand to charm a Monster) that override that general rule. The Thief, however, does not, so the general rule that you can discard from your hand and from those cards in front of you applies. However, remember that you can't discard the Thief to steal something, since you immediately lose the abilities, benefits, and disadvantages of a Class when you discard it.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 04:23 AM   #4
beefsteak
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default Re: Thief's Steal

Thanks for the answers guys!
As for where I got the idea that the thief can't discard from his hand, here: http://munchkin.wikia.com/wiki/Thief

Thanks again :D
beefsteak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 04:36 AM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Thief's Steal

That wiki is not official and therefore a poor source for official information. It is not maintained by SJG and any of its assignees, and, well, it seems rife with copyright infringement by posting card art and card text. Thanks for pointing that out to us. I've reported it to the netcell, Andrew, but if you are skimming and want to get the jump on it. . .

Edit: I finally found a talk page to the administrator's profile. SJG has been trying to get that wiki deleted since 2010, and it seems that the host site has not complied with that request, so people have been making modifications to it since.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 04-30-2013 at 04:50 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 06:38 AM   #6
beefsteak
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default Re: Thief's Steal

Alright! Thanks again :)
beefsteak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
steal, thief

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.