Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2013, 11:48 PM   #1
Ezrae
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Sideways cards - can they be played this way

A few scenarios:

1. I have a 11 foot pole turned sideways and a different (small) two handed bonus in use instead. I'm cursed to lose one small item. Can I lose my 11 foot pole instead of one the items that are in use?

2a. Steeds: First, since steeds are items, can an unmodified steed be turned sideways when the player receives a better steed?

2b. If yes to 2a, can the sideways Steed be sacrificed to run away from a fight?

3. Can a thief steal a sideways item?

4a. Can "Help me out here" be used to steal a steed?

4b. If yes to 4a, if the steed has modifiers do they get stolen as well even though the help me out card says "item" and not "items"?

Thanks!!

Last edited by Ezrae; 03-30-2013 at 11:55 PM.
Ezrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 12:59 AM   #2
Blazinjsin
 
Blazinjsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default Re: Sideways cards - can they be played this way

1. Any item not marked as big is a valid target, regardless of whether it's equipped

2. No, you can only have 1 steed at a time unless another card allows you more

3. A thief may steal any item in play that is not big or immune to theft
__________________
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻ I am King of Munchkin Mountain!!!

Check out my trades ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡) 🍕
Blazinjsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 05:19 AM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Sideways cards - can they be played this way

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ezrae View Post
A few scenarios:

1. I have a 11 foot pole turned sideways and a different (small) two handed bonus in use instead. I'm cursed to lose one small item. Can I lose my 11 foot pole instead of one the items that are in use?
I agree with Blaz on this one. If the curse is just "Lose One Small Item" you can choose any Item that you are carrying, even if you aren't or even can't use that Item.

Quote:
2a. Steeds: First, since steeds are items, can an unmodified steed be turned sideways when the player receives a better steed?
Again agreed with Blaz. You may only have one Steed in play at a time, as per the rules. Also, as they carry themselves, you will be using all your Steeds, I don't think you can turn them sideways.

Quote:
3. Can a thief steal a sideways item?
Again agreed with Blaz.

Quote:
4a. Can "Help me out here" be used to steal a steed?
Yes. It's an Item. You can only do it if it means the difference between winning and losing the combat and you must factor in discarding a Steed you already have, assuming you are at your limit.

Quote:
4b. If yes to 4a, if the steed has modifiers do they get stolen as well even though the help me out card says "item" and not "items"?

Thanks!!
Check the cards in question. They will say whether they go with a Steed or Item which is stolen or whether they are discarded. You steal only the Steed, but some cards may come along for the ride.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:51 AM   #4
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Sideways cards - can they be played this way

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
You steal only the Steed, but some cards may come along for the ride.
I hope that pun was intended, because it made my morning.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:50 AM   #5
Ezrae
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Re: Sideways cards - can they be played this way

Thanks All!

Followup question, more on Steeds:

I have the steed caller item (can't remember the name of it now) that lets me take a steed from the top of a discard pile.

When that steed was discarded it had items attached to it. Do those items come with the steed when I take it?
Ezrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:55 AM   #6
Blazinjsin
 
Blazinjsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default Re: Sideways cards - can they be played this way

No, all items and enhancers become unattached when the cards leave play. This is true for all cards.
__________________
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻ I am King of Munchkin Mountain!!!

Check out my trades ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡) 🍕
Blazinjsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 02:38 PM   #7
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Sideways cards - can they be played this way

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bampop View Post
I hope that pun was intended, because it made my morning.
When I wrote it, it wasn't intended... But it is totally intended in retrospect :D
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.