Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2013, 11:05 PM   #1
moodebony
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Ultimate Cleric FAQ

I just played Munchkin for the first time. It's a great game, but the cards (and general rules) simply do not (and cannot) cover everything that you need to know to play the game as it was intended. I found the Cleric class' "Resurrection" ability to be one of the most hotly debated and generally unclear topics. We definitely did not use it correctly on our first play. There is absolutely no way of divining all of the necessary information from the literature contained in the official game box. I have scoured numerous threads on the subject and I wanted to compile a final list of the basic mechanics here as clearly and concisely as possible. As you can see, the list is quite extensive for just a single ability. It took me a few hours to compile and compose this list. I invite our gaming lord and super moderators to please correct any errors in this post. I also invite anyone else to suggest anything that should go on this list, point our typos, inconsistencies, or picky grammatical errors. I would love to see a similar compilation for each class and maybe even see them stickied!

Cleric

Resurrection:
  1. A Cleric may only use the resurrection ability when he/she has the option to draw one (or more) cards FACE UP from one of the game decks.
    *Example: During the "kick open the door" phase, you may resurrect the top card from the door discard pile instead of drawing from the door deck

  2. There are 2 "normal" cases where a player would draw cards FACE UP (and thus be allowed to use the resurrection ability):
    1. During the "kick down the door" phase.
    2. If a player helped you to defeat a monster, during the "treasure" phase (when a player helps you defeat a monster, treasure cards are drawn FACE UP for all players to see instead of the normal face down). This is currently the only "normal" situation where a Cleric has the option to resurrect multiple cards.
    *Exception: If a card or separate expansion/booster has specific instructions to draw a card FACE UP.

  3. A Cleric may NOT use the resurrection ability instead of drawing a card FACE DOWN.
    *Example: During the "loot the room" phase or "treasure" phase (after defeating a monster without help)

  4. A Cleric may not resurrect cards during the "treasure" phase when helping out a fellow munchkin. (Technically the player whom the Cleric helped is drawing the cards, not the Cleric. This is true even if the treasure cards were promised to the Cleric)

  5. A Cleric may only resurrect a card from the discard pile associated with that the deck from which he is drawing.
    *Example: During the "kick open the door" phase, a Cleric may not resurrect a card from the treasure discard pile. Likewise, during the "treasure" phase, a Cleric may not resurrect a card from the door discard pile. Etc.

  6. A Cleric may only resurrect the card on TOP of the discard pile (or top X cards if resurrecting multiple cards at once). The Cleric does not get to rifle through the deck and choose which card(s) he/she will resurrect.
    *Example: The top card on the treasure discard pile is "Horny Helmet". Underneath that card is the "Kneepads of Allure" card. The Cleric must choose (and be eligible) to resurrect two cards if he/she wishes to resurrect the "Kneepads of Allure".

  7. A Cleric (or any player for that matter) may only see the top card of any discard pile. No player is allowed to look through the discard piles at any time. (You may use only your memory)
    *Exception: Some cards (such as "Wand of Dowsing" give you special permission to look through the discard piles)

  8. A Cleric must have at least 1 card in his hand (prior to resurrection) for every card that he resurrects.
    *Example: A Cleric is aided by his fellow munchkin and they defeat a monster that yields 3 treasure cards (which will be drawn FACE UP). If the Cleric wants to resurrect 3 treasure cards instead of drawing 3 cards from the treasure deck, he/she must have 3 cards already in hand. If that Cleric has only 2 cards in his/her hand, he/she may only resurrect, at most, 2 cards.

  9. A Cleric may only resurrect, at most, 1 card for every FACE UP card that he/she would have otherwise been able to draw.
    *Example: During the "kick open the door" phase, the player would normally draw 1 card from the door deck FACE UP. He/She may instead resurrect, at most, 1 card.
    *Example: A Cleric is aided by his fellow munchkin and they defeat a monster that yields 3 treasure cards (which will be drawn FACE UP). The Cleric may choose to resurrect up to 3 cards and no more.
    *Note: When using the official Epic Munchkin rules, a Cleric with "epic" status must draw two door cards during the "kick open the door" phase instead of just one (making them eligible to resurrect up to two cards instead of just one)

  10. A Cleric may only discard/sacrifice cards that were in his/her hand previous to the resurrection.
    *Example: Suppose that a Cleric resurrects 2 cards. He/She resurrects card A (on top), in order to resurrect card B (under card A). He/She must then discard 2 cards that were in his/her hand before he/she resurrected the two cards. Therefore he/she must keep or use card A immediately. Card A may not be selected as one of the cards that is discarded/sacrificed for the resurrection.

  11. When given the option to draw cards face up, the Cleric must choose how many cards to resurrect (and by association how many cards to sacrifice/discard) before any cards are actually drawn or resurrected.
    *Example: The Cleric defeats a monster with aid from a fellow munchkin. That monster yields 3 treasures (which must be drawn FACE UP because the Cleric had help). The Cleric must first decide whether he/she wants to resurrect 1, 2, or 3 cards. He/She cannot resurrect the top card of the discard pile, take a look at the next card, then decide whether or not they want to resurrect the next card or draw from the deck. If the Cleric chooses to resurrect 1 card, he/she must then draw the remaining 2 cards from the treasure deck.
    *Example: Likewise, in the above example, a Cleric may not draw 1 card from the treasure deck, then decided to resurrect a card from the discard pile.

  12. If a Cleric resurrects a curse card, that curse is immediately applied to the Cleric who resurrected the card with NO EXCEPTIONS. (NOTE: see exceptions)
    *Exception: The instructions on the curse card explicitly target other players
    *Exception: A special card explicitly tells you to place a drawn, FACE UP door card directly into your hand (i.e. "Stacked Deck").

  13. During the "kick open the door" phase, if the Cleric chooses to resurrect a non-monster card instead of drawing from the door deck, he/she will still proceed to the "look for trouble" or "loot the room" phase. (This allows him/her to draw another FACE DOWN card or play a monster from his/her hand.)

  14. During the "kick open the door" phase, if the Cleric chooses to resurrect a monster, he/she must face that monster immediately the same as if he/she had drawn that monster from the door deck. (He/She may not proceed to the "look for trouble" or "loot the room" phase)

I printed all of the official (updated) PDF rules and official FAQ sections relevant to my current card library and placed them in a binder before our first game. I was pretty surprised that *most* of this information was not found anywhere in that literature. I would love to see this information added to the official FAQ. You have my permission to plagiarize as deliberately as you like.

On a side note, I would love to see a printable version of the FAQ (formatted and optimized for letter-sized viewing, similar to the downloadable PDFs). I'd be happy to help out.

Last edited by moodebony; 03-31-2013 at 12:09 AM. Reason: corrections
moodebony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 11:07 PM   #2
moodebony
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Re: Ultimate Cleric FAQ

Cleric (Cont'd)

  • Specific Case: Resurrection Vs. "Stacked Deck" When a Cleric resurrects a card, another player may use the "Stacked Deck" card to 'steal' that card from the Cleric. The Cleric must then discard his/her card (as required by the resurrection). The "Stacked Deck" card is then placed on top of the door discard pile. As per the instructions on the "Stacked Deck" card, the Cleric may then draw another card from the same deck (or use the resurrection ability to resurrect the top card from that deck's associated discard pile).
    *Example: During the "kick open the door" phase, a Cleric decides to resurrect the "Plutonium Dragon" card (currently on top of the door discard pile) instead of drawing from the door pile. He chooses to discard/sacrifice the "Income Tax" curse card (which is currently in his hand). Another player then plays the "Stacked Deck" card. The "Plutonium Dragon" card will now go to that player instead of the Cleric. The "Income Tax" card is discarded into the door discard pile. The "Stacked Deck" card is then placed on top of the door discard pile. The Cleric may then choose to either draw a card from the door deck or resurrect the "Stacked Deck" card (if the Cleric has at least one card left in his/her hand).
    *Example: With the help of a fellow munchkin, a Cleric defeats a monster that yields 1 treasure. There is a "Kneepads of Allure" card on the top of the treasure discard pile. Instead of drawing from the treasure deck, the Cleric decides to sacrifice his/her "Horny Helmet" card to resurrect the "Kneepads of Allure" card. Another player plays the "Stacked Deck" card, effectively stealing the "Kneepads of Allure". The "Horny Helmet" card is placed on top of the treasure discard pile and the "Stacked Deck" card is then placed on top of the door discard pile. The Cleric may now choose to either draw a card from the treasure deck or resurrect the "Horny Helmet" back from the treasure discard pile (if the Cleric has at least one card left in his/her hand).
    *(this information grabbed from the post Resurrection Vs. Stacked Deck)

Last edited by moodebony; 03-31-2013 at 12:00 AM. Reason: Addition
moodebony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 11:09 PM   #3
moodebony
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Re: Ultimate Cleric FAQ

* reserved for future expansion (MK II)
moodebony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 11:41 PM   #4
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Ultimate Cleric FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by moodebony View Post
Cleric

Resurrection:

A Cleric may only resurrect the card on TOP of the discard pile (or top X cards if resurrecting multiple cards at once). The Cleric does not get to rifle through the deck and choose which card(s) he/she will resurrect.
*Example: The top card on the treasure discard pile is "Cheat". Underneath that card is the "Kneepads of Allure" card. The Cleric must choose (and be eligible) to resurrect two cards if he/she wishes to resurrect the "Kneepads of Allure".
Cheat is a Door card, the Kneepads is a Treasure card. I would change your example here

Quote:
Exception: Some cards (such as "Dowsing Rod" give you special permission to look through the discard piles)
The card is the Wand of Dowsing

Quote:
Note: When using the official Epic Munchkin rules, a Cleric with "epic" status must draw two door cards during the "kick open the door" phase instead of just one (making them eligible two resurrect up to two cards instead of just one)
Typo: eligible TO ressurrect up to two...

Quote:
If a Cleric resurrects a curse card, that curse is immediately applied to the Cleric who resurrected the card with NO EXCEPTIONS. (NOTE: see exceptions)
This is not true at all. The Curse is only applied if it was going to be applied anyway, like on the Kick the Door Phase.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 12:13 AM   #5
moodebony
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Re: Ultimate Cleric FAQ

Thanks a lot bonetm. The corrections have been made. I wish we could use more than 10k characters in a post!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonetm View Post
This is not true at all. The Curse is only applied if it was going to be applied anyway, like on the Kick the Door Phase.
Can you give me a specific example where this is not true?
moodebony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 05:04 AM   #6
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Ultimate Cleric FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by moodebony View Post
Can you give me a specific example where this is not true?
The Jade Cube of Karma allows you to draw face-up Door cards and curses do not trigger when it is used. I guess the complaint was more about your gag about NO EXCEPTIONS. It's confusing in the context of an FAQ, even though you provide examples immediately afterwards.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 03-31-2013 at 05:09 AM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:50 AM   #7
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Ultimate Cleric FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by moodebony View Post
I would love to see a similar compilation for each class and maybe even see them stickied!
At which point, the first two pages, or more, of the forum become nothing but stickies. I think we'll continue with the system that we already have. The FAQ can be found here: http://www.worldofmunchkin.com/faq

Also, though you may find the resurrection ability confusing and wanted to compile all this helpful information, it is a massive wall of text that will scare the everliving crud out of new players coming to a game that's a lot simpler than some people want to make it out to be. Which, by the way, is why I moved it.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 03-31-2013 at 09:55 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cleric, faq, munchkin, resurrection

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.