Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 11:54 AM   #1
Munchkin
 
Munchkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: California
Default I Don't Wanna Be A __________ Anymore...

I have a question about race and class. The rules say at anytime, even in combat, you can say "I don't wanna be a ________ anymore." So when's the next time you can update to something else? My friends and I had been playing additional race/class cards sideways but I guess that's only for items correct (and not once only items if I understand correctly). So if that's the case then would you have to keep other races/classes in your hand and if so would the player have to wait until his/her next turn in order to update to something else?
Munchkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:58 AM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: I Don't Wanna Be A __________ Anymore...

You can only play a race/class during your own turn, or immediately after you receive it.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 12:01 PM   #3
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: I Don't Wanna Be A __________ Anymore...

The rules for Races and Classes are that you can discard them at any time, and you can play them at any time on your own turn, or as soon as you get them.

So, as an example, if a Munchkin is in combat with a helper, the Munchkin whose turn it is is free to discard their race AND replace it with another one if they have one in hand. The helper can ALSO discard their race, but they can't play another from their hand, as it isn't their turn. If, somehow, they managed to get a race card at that time, they could play it as soon as they got it, if they wanted to.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:46 PM   #4
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: I Don't Wanna Be A __________ Anymore...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munchkin View Post
My friends and I had been playing additional race/class cards sideways but I guess that's only for items correct (and not once only items if I understand correctly).
although other have alread answered the original question, here goes a clarification: you are right when you say only Items (cards with a Gold Value) can be played sideways, but you can play any Item, which means one-shot Items too. You can have as many small Items in play as you want, but only one Big.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change class, change race, class, race

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.