Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2013, 01:52 PM   #1
Aerros
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default Is "Bardic Luck" Optional?

I feel as though the fact that "Bardic Luck" is a skill and skills themselves(for me) are optional unless otherwise stated, then that erases any chance of ambiguity. There is no "must" or "may" indicates in the description of the effect as well.

As a reminder:
Moderator Edit: Please don't quote card text.

Id greatly appreciate any help. I'm new here but I've been searching up rule clarification for quite some time. Thanks everyone for that too.

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 02-20-2013 at 02:06 PM.
Aerros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 01:58 PM   #2
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Is "Bardic Luck" Optional?

I don't see how it could be optional if that's the exact card text. They don't need to put a "must". The text says "when this happens, do this".

There is no general rule that class abilities are optional. The ones that are make that clear by the phrasing on the card, I think. In this case, it would need to be phrased like, "When this happens, you MAY do this" to make it a choice.
Mister Ed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:01 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Is "Bardic Luck" Optional?

I think it's compulsory, unless everybody forgets about it. I can't think of any real reason why you wouldn't want to do it, though.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:07 PM   #4
Aerros
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default Re: Is "Bardic Luck" Optional?

I just forget to use the effect a lot is the real reason why
I posted this question. The other players feel as though I throw the flow of the game off by forgetting.
Aerros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:18 PM   #5
Blazinjsin
 
Blazinjsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default Re: Is "Bardic Luck" Optional?

If it bothers them when you forget, then they should remind you. There's a lot to keep track of in this game, you won't remember all the things all the time. It only hurts the Bard not to remember though.
__________________
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻ I am King of Munchkin Mountain!!!

Check out my trades ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡) 🍕
Blazinjsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bard, bardic luck

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.