Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 07:20 AM   #31
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Slightly confused NOOB questions

This thread has gotten too fractured by the addition of new questions, and I'm concerned that it's just going to get worse, making it hard for other new players to search and find the answers to their questions. Please, Augster, start new threads for new questions, and try to group questions if they are related, if you can.

Since it seems that every question has been answered, so I'm going to close this thread to help prevent too much more side discussion and tangentiality.

Thanks!
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline  
Old 01-21-2013, 07:23 AM   #32
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Slightly confused NOOB questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonetm View Post
Edit: just to be clear, I'm not questioning Andrew's ruling, I'm just questioning the way this is presented. It's not clear, from the way it is written in the rules, that an Item can't be played if you just got it and it's the middle of the combat.
Perhaps this quote from the rules, on p. 2, should be your guide. Andrew's ruling is not out of whim. The rules clearly state what you can't do during combat with respect to Items in your hand, so regardless of what p. 5 says, the following quote is not overridden by it:

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Rules
While you are in combat, you cannot sell, steal, equip, unequip, or trade items, or play items (except for one-shots) from your hand.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline  
Old 01-21-2013, 08:18 AM   #33
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Slightly confused NOOB questions

The rule is you cannot play a non-one-shot Item during combat unless the card or some other rule SPECIFICALLY overrides that restriction. Page 5 is not specific. (It also doesn't say you can't play multiple Big items, but that shouldn't mean the Big item rule doesn't apply, either.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.