Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2012, 05:44 AM   #11
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Knight Mare

It says +2 against everyone else. I interpret that as +2 against non-Centaurs, but I don't think that has ever been officially ruled upon, so I may very well be wrong.

As for the Half-Centaur-Gnome, the player is not a non-Centaur, so I'd actually think the Knight Mare would be at +4. This also works with the original wording as it would be weird to say that a single munchkin could be both a Centaur and 'everyone else'.

This also solves the Centaur Wizard problem. It would be a +4 here too. I'm classifying non-Centaurs as characters that aren't considered to be Centaurs, so a Centaur's additional Races, Classes, etc. are irrelevant.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 12-27-2012 at 05:52 AM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:43 AM   #12
kotya
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Knight Mare

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
As for the Half-Centaur-Gnome, the player is not a non-Centaur, so I'd actually think the Knight Mare would be at +4. This also works with the original wording as it would be weird to say that a single munchkin could be both a Centaur and 'everyone else'.
maybe I don't understand you, but very often a single munchkin is a Centaur and 'everyone else': Cleric, Thief, Wizard etc. Or they may use Half-Breed card and be a Centaur and Gnome, Elf, Dwarf etc.
a quote from FAQ says that the monster's bonuses for different Races/Classes stack if he meets munchkin with both these Races/Classes, and the Knight-Mare card does not say otherwise. So the "against Centaurs" and "against non-Centaurs" bonuses should stack and give +6 to monster.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
This also solves the Centaur Wizard problem. It would be a +4 here too. I'm classifying non-Centaurs as characters that aren't considered to be Centaurs, so a Centaur's additional Races, Classes, etc. are irrelevant.
we have the same sitation there.

I guess we need to stop arguing and wait for an official response.
kotya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 01:11 PM   #13
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Knight Mare

The Knight Mare cares about Races, not any other traits. If you are a Centaur or Half-Centaur, she is at +2 against you -- she's only +4 if you have no Centaur component to your Race.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 02:41 PM   #14
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Knight Mare

Thanks Andrew. You got the two bonuses the wrong way around, though. The Knight Mare is +4 against Centaurs and +2 against everyone else.

Also, a Half-Centaur that does not have any other Race should be able to claim they are everyone else, as that's a disadvantage to being a Centaur, right?

Could you please confirm whether I'm correct that these bonuses can stack when there are two or more different combatants on the munchkin side (via Helper or Hireling), one a Centaur and one not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kotya View Post
maybe I don't understand you, but very often a single munchkin is a Centaur and 'everyone else': Cleric, Thief, Wizard etc. Or they may use Half-Breed card and be a Centaur and Gnome, Elf, Dwarf etc.
a quote from FAQ says that the monster's bonuses for different Races/Classes stack if he meets munchkin with both these Races/Classes, and the Knight-Mare card does not say otherwise. So the "against Centaurs" and "against non-Centaurs" bonuses should stack and give +6 to monster.
Andrew's response does remove the doubt I had on this part, so I'll try to fully clarify what I meant. By non-Centaur, I don't mean having a component which is something other than Centaur. I mean being a character which is not considered to be a Centaur. A Half-Centaur-Gnome cannot say he is not a Centaur. Neither can a Centaur Wizard. A Half-Centaur with no other Race can choose if he is a Centaur or if he is not a Centaur, depending which choice is more advantageous. Thus, these two bonuses could never stack on any one character, as no character would ever be both a Centaur and a non-Centaur.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 12-27-2012 at 02:49 PM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:58 AM   #15
six's monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Default Re: Knight Mare

This is beginning to make my head hurt, and I did quite well in the 'proofs' segment of Geometry. If I am alone in being puzzled about how much the mare cares about whom and why, then I abase myself in front of the reader at this time.
six's monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.