Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2012, 10:23 AM   #1
Enzzo
 
Enzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Default Regarding Enhancement Items

My question is about enhancement Items with a Gold Value in general, not just Ship Enhancers, but I found this tidbit in the FAQ:

Quote:
Q. Do I have to play Ship Enhancers on a ship? They are items and have Gold Piece values, so shouldn't I be able to treat them like other items?
A. You can sell them for levels or use Cheat! to play them on their own, but otherwise, they must be played on a ship.
Now, I know that you cannot use an enhancement item and get the bonus from it unless you put it on the appropriate card. But could you put them in play as "carried" the way you can with one-shot Items (Basically to avoid giving them away as charity)?

I'm guessing the FAQ entry means the answer to this question is "no", but I want to see if y'all agree with my logic.
Enzzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 11:13 AM   #2
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Regarding Enhancement Items

I think the FAQ is clear, and it makes sense to me, besides.

Since they are clearly intended to enhance a certain type of item, playing one on its own makes little sense (absent the Cheat! option), and would never do you any good at all other than avoiding charity, anyway, since even if you later got an item that it COULD attach to, I wouldn't think you'd be allowed to "move" it to that item. (I wouldn't think that a Ship Enhancer that you Cheat!ed in on its own would be allowed to attach to a ship later, either.)
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 03:27 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Regarding Enhancement Items

MunchkinMan said here that Ship Enhancers can be carried unused.

I agree with that as all Items can be carried according to the rules. You can't use the Enhancer Items unless you have Cheat!, though.

In this regard, they are like One-shot Items. You can place them on the table in a state where they don't apply any of their effects. I assume then that you can still play them at any time you could usually play that card, so once you have a ship, you could choose to attach the Ship Enhancer, but once it's attached it stays there.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 04:00 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Regarding Enhancement Items

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
MunchkinMan said here that Ship Enhancers can be carried unused.
I'm hereby overruling that ruling, because to me the text is clear, and Steve's later clarification makes it even MORE clear. Steed/Item Enhancers may not be played unless you can legally use them at that moment, and that means you have to have something to attach them to.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 04:15 PM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Regarding Enhancement Items

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
I'm hereby overruling that ruling, because to me the text is clear, and Steve's later clarification makes it even MORE clear. Steed/Item Enhancers may not be played unless you can legally use them at that moment, and that means you have to have something to attach them to.
That ruling was made more than 4 years ago and newer rulings were made that override it.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 07:12 AM   #6
Enzzo
 
Enzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Default Re: Regarding Enhancement Items

Thanks, guys, for clearing that up for me once and for all :)
Enzzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:08 AM   #7
kotya
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Regarding Enhancement Items

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
I'm hereby overruling that ruling, because to me the text is clear, and Steve's later clarification makes it even MORE clear. Steed/Item Enhancers may not be played unless you can legally use them at that moment, and that means you have to have something to attach them to.
what about hireling enhancers?
kotya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:14 AM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Regarding Enhancement Items

Quote:
Originally Posted by kotya View Post
what about hireling enhancers?
Must be played on a Hireling.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.