Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2012, 04:11 PM   #1
silverhunter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Question about Gnomes

Please help us settle an argument!

I was playing as a Gnome in a game of Munchkin. I took advantage of the following ability:

Moderator edit: Please do no quote card text.

I successfully defeated a monster by myself. When I went to use this ability again later in the game, I was told that this ability was a one-shot only.

My understanding is that the Gnome, when fighting against a monster by itself, can use this ability and lay down one monster only. The player who argued the game understands this as a one-time use ability in the game.

Please help us settle this argument.

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 09-04-2012 at 04:49 AM.
silverhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 04:55 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Question about Gnomes

It's once per combat. It's the monster card you use which becomes a one-shot (and hence discarded after the combat), not the ability or the Gnome card.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:33 PM   #3
silverhunter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Re: Question about Gnomes

Thank you for your quick reply!
silverhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 08:06 PM   #4
SmokeRulz
 
SmokeRulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Re: Question about Gnomes

Your friend is trying too hard. You can't ALWAYS throw logic out the window when trying to be munchkinly! Why would the game creators make a racial ability that was once per GAME? Honestly.
__________________
Munchkin: 1-8, boosters/supplements
Zombies: 1-4, Dice, 1-3, supplements
Cthulhu: 1-4, Dice, supplements
Apocalypse: 1-2, supplements
Legends: 1
SmokeRulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 04:49 AM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Question about Gnomes

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeRulz View Post
Your friend is trying too hard. You can't ALWAYS throw logic out the window when trying to be munchkinly! Why would the game creators make a racial ability that was once per GAME? Honestly.
More importantly: Why a one-shot ability that was never described, in the rules or on the card, as a one-shot ability?
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:49 PM   #6
SmokeRulz
 
SmokeRulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Re: Question about Gnomes

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
More importantly: Why a one-shot ability that was never described, in the rules or on the card, as a one-shot ability?
Exactly! I bet that guy would pull the same thing on the Halfling's run away ability.
__________________
Munchkin: 1-8, boosters/supplements
Zombies: 1-4, Dice, 1-3, supplements
Cthulhu: 1-4, Dice, supplements
Apocalypse: 1-2, supplements
Legends: 1
SmokeRulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 06:19 PM   #7
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Question about Gnomes

In the guy's defence, the Gnome ability does call it a 'one-shot Illusion'. I can understand how he might have misunderstood that as saying you have a one-shot Illusion ability given to you by the Gnome card that you can never use again as it is usable only once.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Andrew Hackard; 09-04-2012 at 07:50 PM. Reason: removed inappropriate "junior mod" text
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gnome illusion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.