Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2012, 11:20 PM   #1
MunchkinAddictT
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SC
Default Can a Thief steal from a Thief?

We played tonight, the THERE'S ONLY ONE OF ME card got discarded early on in the game. We have the base game , clerical errors, need for steed, unnatural axe, and a couple of packs of enhancer cards. We had 2 Thieves. Can they steal from one another or is that considered professional courtesy??? Unfortunately, the Helm of Peripheral Vision never came up :(
MunchkinAddictT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:52 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Can a Thief steal from a Thief?

Yes, they can, of course.

You should never try to apply text from one card (Lawyers I assume) to other cards unless the rules tell you to, especially when it's flavour text.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 12:56 AM   #3
Flemroid
 
Flemroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NY
Default Re: Can a Thief steal from a Thief?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
Yes, they can, of course.

You should never try to apply text from one card (Lawyers I assume) to other cards unless the rules tell you to, especially when it's flavour text.
Is the Lawyer text considered flavor text? Those are actual rules of the Lawyer, a thief cannot fight him?
__________________
Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4GLTE smartphone
Flemroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:14 AM   #4
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Can a Thief steal from a Thief?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flemroid View Post
Is the Lawyer text considered flavor text? Those are actual rules of the Lawyer, a thief cannot fight him?
Clipper was refering to the "professional courtesy" sentence, which is obviously a joke.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:33 AM   #5
MunchkinAddictT
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SC
Default Re: Can a Thief steal from a Thief?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinAddictT View Post
We had 2 Thieves. Can they steal from one another or is that considered professional courtesy??? (
sorry, I come from the legal field so I love the professional courtesy idea. I just didn't know if they could steal from each other. Tonight was the first night we had 2 actual ruthless thieves! Some of our group tends to be un-active thieves. My husband.... is the thief extraordinaire!! We actually teamed up against him last week and used Annihilation card on his Thief Class card!!! (can you believe he drew another within a few rounds!?)
MunchkinAddictT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 07:50 AM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Can a Thief steal from a Thief?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinAddictT View Post
sorry, I come from the legal field so I love the professional courtesy idea. I just didn't know if they could steal from each other. Tonight was the first night we had 2 actual ruthless thieves! Some of our group tends to be un-active thieves. My husband.... is the thief extraordinaire!! We actually teamed up against him last week and used Annihilation card on his Thief Class card!!! (can you believe he drew another within a few rounds!?)
Neither card text nor the rules provide a clause which says a Thief can't steal from a Thief, so there is no reason to assume such a rule exists, especially because one card (Lawyers) makes a rule statement, not in spite of it.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:12 AM   #7
Flemroid
 
Flemroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NY
Default Re: Can a Thief steal from a Thief?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonetm View Post
Clipper was refering to the "professional courtesy" sentence, which is obviously a joke.
Sorry, was very late that makes more sense now.
__________________
Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4GLTE smartphone
Flemroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.