Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2012, 11:25 PM   #1
bensrpgpile
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Munchkin Zombie: One Time Use Cards (in hand only?)

Hi All,

Munchkin Zombie Question: Getting confused on some item cards and whether they have to be in my hand or can be sitting out in front of me face up...

Q1: An item with no designated slot. Example: Wishing Ring. Do I have to keep that in my hand until it comes time to play it or can I just keep it face up out in front of me until I need to play it (for when I get cursed)?

Q2: A combat card with no gp value. Example: Roller Skate (used during combat, +3 to either side, use once). Do I have to keep that in my hand until it comes time to play it or can I just keep it face up out in front of me and call out its bonus when I need to play it?

Q3: An item with no slot designation. Example: A Flypaper Necktie +3. I get to keep that out in front of me as a face up item, right?

Q4: An item that has a gp value and one-time use. Example: Lighter Fluid or Bottle of Acid. Do I have to keep that in my hand until it comes time to play it or can I just keep it face up out in front of me and call out its bonus when I need to play it (and then discarding after that)?

Q5: Something with no gp value or slot. Example: +3 Bonus on Fire. Do I have to keep that in my hand until it comes time to play it or can I just keep it face up out in front of me and call out its bonus when I need to play it?

Thanks in advance for any help/clarification you can provide,

Ben

Last edited by bensrpgpile; 08-26-2012 at 11:37 PM.
bensrpgpile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 11:54 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Zombie: One Time Use Cards (in hand only?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bensrpgpile View Post
Q1: A [one-shot] item with no designated slot. Example: Wishing Ring. Do I have to keep that in my hand until it comes time to play it or can I just keep it face up out in front of me until I need to play it (for when I get cursed)?
One-shot Items may be played from the hand or placed on the table for later use. (The disadvantages of that being that you lose the element of surprise and that they are vulnerable to far more Curses.) Recall that Items are cards with Gold Piece values (including the phrase "No Value," which is the same as 0 Gold Pieces).

Quote:
Originally Posted by bensrpgpile View Post
Q2: A [one-shot] combat card with no gp value. Example: Roller Skate (used during combat, +3 to either side, use once). Do I have to keep that in my hand until it comes time to play it or can I just keep it face up out in front of me and call out its bonus when I need to play it?
Because it is a one-shot card but not an Item, it may not be played to the table until you are ready to use it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bensrpgpile View Post
Q3: An item with no slot designation. Example: A Flypaper Necktie +3. I get to keep that out in front of me as a face up item, right?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bensrpgpile View Post
Q4: An item that has a gp value and one-time use. Example: Lighter Fluid or Bottle of Acid. Do I have to keep that in my hand until it comes time to play it or can I just keep it face up out in front of me and call out its bonus when I need to play it (and then discarding after that)?
See my answer to Q1; it's the same here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bensrpgpile View Post
Q5: Something with no gp value or slot. Example: +3 Bonus on Fire. Do I have to keep that in my hand until it comes time to play it or can I just keep it face up out in front of me and call out its bonus when I need to play it?
That is a "special" Treasure. Because it has a persistent bonus, you play it in front of you as though it were an Item, but it's not. Some specials work like On Fire; others (such as Go Up a Level cards) are "fire and forget."
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:01 AM   #3
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Munchkin Zombie: One Time Use Cards (in hand only?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bensrpgpile View Post
Q1: An item with no designated slot. Example: Wishing Ring. Do I have to keep that in my hand until it comes time to play it or can I just keep it face up out in front of me until I need to play it (for when I get cursed)?
If it has a Gold Value (remember that "No Value" is a value) it is an Item. The rules say you can carry as many Small Itens as you want. Since Wishing Rings, and others, qualifies as Item, they can be played in front of you.

The mais advantage of doing so is avoiding giving Charity. The disadvantages are that Itens in play are more vulnerable to Curses, Bad Stuff and can be targeted by theft-abilities.

Quote:
Q2: A combat card with no gp value. Example: Roller Skate (used during combat, +3 to either side, use once). Do I have to keep that in my hand until it comes time to play it or can I just keep it face up out in front of me and call out its bonus when I need to play it?
You can only play to carry, but not use, Itens. As I said, only cards that have any printed Value.
Quote:
Q3: An item with no slot designation. Example: A Flypaper Necktie +3. I get to keep that out in front of me as a face up item, right?
Yes. Not every Item uses a slot. There are many of them that don't and they are very useful because of that.

Quote:
Q4: An item that has a gp value and one-time use. Example: Lighter Fluid or Bottle of Acid. Do I have to keep that in my hand until it comes time to play it or can I just keep it face up out in front of me and call out its bonus when I need to play it (and then discarding after that)?
The rules say that One-Shot Itens can be played from your hand in any combat. They are also Itens, so they follow the general Item rules that say they can be played to the table. I alread said the advantages/disadvantages of doing so.

Quote:
Q5: Something with no gp value or slot. Example: +3 Bonus on Fire. Do I have to keep that in my hand until it comes time to play it or can I just keep it face up out in front of me and call out its bonus when I need to play it?
These cards are special. They work pretty much as an Item that gives you a bonus, but they can't be traded, lost to Curses or Bad Stuff that target Itens. They are "wildcards". Just play them and use their bonus in every combat. Unless another card specifically targets them (there are a few that interact with On Fire, for example). Otherwise, it's just a special permanent combat bonus.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.