Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2012, 08:38 AM   #1
UncleBob
 
UncleBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern Illinois
Default Fake Beard + Hireling

I know the answer to this, but... I'd try to argue it.

The Fake Beard says that it allows the wearer to "use any Dwarf-only items"

If I put the Face Beard on a hireling, does that mean they can use any amount of Dwarf-only items at this point? :D

Last edited by UncleBob; 08-19-2012 at 08:42 AM.
UncleBob is offline  
Old 08-19-2012, 08:46 AM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Fake Beard + Hireling

No. Items that Hirelings carry and use provide their bonuses and/or abilities to you, not the Hireling.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline  
Old 08-19-2012, 08:51 AM   #3
UncleBob
 
UncleBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern Illinois
Default Re: Fake Beard + Hireling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
No. Items that Hirelings carry and use provide their bonuses and/or abilities to you, not the Hireling.
lol. It was worth a shot.
UncleBob is offline  
Old 08-19-2012, 09:00 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Fake Beard + Hireling

Hirelings that can use an Item for you can usually only use one Item, so if you were to give a Hireling the Fake Beard, then it's using the one Item it can use. Now, since Fake Beard doesn't count as Armor, Footgear, or Headgear, then you can use it regardless of what other Items you might have in play, so why bother giving it to a Hireling?
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline  
Old 08-19-2012, 09:02 PM   #5
UncleBob
 
UncleBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern Illinois
Default Re: Fake Beard + Hireling

My argument (which I knew was a long shot) is that the card says that the wearer can use any dwarf items - thus I was trying to make a case for allowing the hireling who has it to use multiple items :D
UncleBob is offline  
Old 08-19-2012, 09:11 PM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Fake Beard + Hireling

Nope. Hireling says one, and nothing about Fake Beard indicates it could possibly override that. Regardless, the ability would affect you, and once again, it makes no sense to play the card on a Hireling.

I think we've exercised our brains enough on this one. . .
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.