Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2012, 03:05 PM   #1
Topsub
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Stacking plus run

In one fight a guy has +2 boots, +1 elf, and +1 carpet. Is this correct? He wouldn't have to roll because he already has enough plus run away?
Topsub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 03:16 PM   #2
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Stacking plus run

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topsub View Post
In one fight a guy has +2 boots, +1 elf, and +1 carpet. Is this correct? He wouldn't have to roll because he already has enough plus run away?
I'd make him roll, anyway, just on principle, since there is always the POSSIBILITY that somebody else might be able to do something to effect the roll. But yeah, absent that, the person does have a successful roll guaranteed.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:05 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Stacking plus run

It is not correct, assuming you mean the Flying Carpet (I can't find another card with carpet in the name) as it is a Steed.

If a Steed has a Run Away modifier (bonus or penalty), then it replaces your character's one, so that setup leaves him with only a +1 to Run Away. In the case that he does have to Run Away, he can choose to discard the Steed first as it is currently penalising him (he has a +3 to Run Away without the Steed).

If he did have a legal +4 Run Away modifier, you can perhaps ignore the roll as long as everybody agrees it's not necessary. That way, if somebody does happen to have a card combination that would screw him up, then they can use it.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:06 PM   #4
The Big Boo
 
The Big Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
Default Re: Stacking plus run

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Ed View Post
I'd make him roll, anyway, just on principle, since there is always the POSSIBILITY that somebody else might be able to do something to effect the roll. But yeah, absent that, the person does have a successful roll guaranteed.
I assume this is the Flying Carpet which is a steed, in which case Mister Ed is wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munchkin 4 Rules
If a Steed has a bonus or penalty to Run Away, that replaces the bonus of the rider. An Elf normally has a bonus to Run Away, but he has a penalty if he is riding the Turtle! If your Steed gives you a penalty to Run Away, you may discard the Steed before you roll to fl ee. You donít suffer the penalty, but the card goes to the discard pile.
So you would have either +1 to run away from the Flaying Carpet or you could discard it to have +3 to run away for the Elf and Boots which do stack together!
__________________
.
Show this signature to the group during any game of Munchkin to get an instant +0 during any combat, Usable once only.
The Big Boo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 05:14 PM   #5
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Stacking plus run

Oopsie. Didn't pay close enough attention. I was mostly addressing the issue of whether you still have to roll if you have enough modifiers to guarantee success. Since his list was not very specific, I didn't even try to parse the exact cards involved, and just addressed that one aspect.

In retrospect that seems to have been an oversight, because it gave the impression that that exact combo worked, when it most likely doesn't (if we are correctly interpreting the cards involved, which seems likely). Sorry.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 02:44 PM   #6
Flemroid
 
Flemroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NY
Default Re: Stacking plus run

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
If a Steed has a Run Away modifier (bonus or penalty), then it replaces your character's one
That works the same for ships and stuff as well correct?
__________________
Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4GLTE smartphone
Flemroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 03:32 PM   #7
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Stacking plus run

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flemroid View Post
That works the same for ships and stuff as well correct?
Yes. And if you are blending so that you have both Ships and Steeds, the Ship's modifier replaces both that of your Steed and yourself.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.