Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2012, 11:39 AM   #1
Topsub
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Number of Big Items one can have

Just want to make sure i understand at any ONE time on the table we can only have 1 big item down?

So i can't have 1 big item equ and the one turned sideways carried?


Some friends and us where wanting to be clear on this.
Topsub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 12:15 PM   #2
The Big Boo
 
The Big Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
Default Re: Number of Big Items one can have

Correct, you can only carry 1 big item whether you have it equipped or not equipped.

Not equipped being that you have it turned sideways and are not counting its bonus and abilities.

It should be noted that ships and steeds that are marked big do not count against this limit of 1 and you can use a cheat card to carry a second big item, also a hireling can carry and use 1 big item aswell and as he is carrying it this also does not count against your limit of 1.
__________________
.
Show this signature to the group during any game of Munchkin to get an instant +0 during any combat, Usable once only.
The Big Boo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 12:25 PM   #3
Topsub
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Re: Number of Big Items one can have

thanks for the info, What do people normally do with extra big items if we cant lay them down?
Topsub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 01:02 PM   #4
Adamant Azoth
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: Number of Big Items one can have

1. Decide which Big Item will benefit you the most.

2a. If the one already in service, use the one in your hand to discard to power an ability, sell it for a level, or just keep it if you have room in your hand -- you could get cursed or change your class/race/etc.

2b. If the one in your hand, sell the one on the table for a level, or trade it for a small item, then lay down the one in your hand.

Anyone else have a strategy suggestion?
Adamant Azoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 01:17 PM   #5
Topsub
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Re: Number of Big Items one can have

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamant Azoth View Post

2b., or trade it for a small item, then lay down the one in your hand.

Anyone else have a strategy suggestion?
thanks for your feedback, but can you explain what you mean by trade it for a small item? Do you mean turn it sideways and swap it for a non big item for example?
Topsub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 01:22 PM   #6
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Number of Big Items one can have

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topsub View Post
thanks for your feedback, but can you explain what you mean by trade it for a small item? Do you mean turn it sideways and swap it for a non big item for example?
He means trade it to another player. Or I assume he does, since that would work to get rid of it and allow you to play another Big item. Turning it sideways wouldn't let you play another Big item, since you can only carry one Big item, and cards turned sideways are still carried.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 02:47 PM   #7
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Number of Big Items one can have

You could also trade the one on the table for nothing, provided the recipient is willing and has no Big Item of his own already. It can also be used to power most abilities that require discards (unless the ability says the discard must be from your hand). Cursing yourself with a Curse that allows you to choose that Item to be lost is another useful tactic if you have the right card.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 02:41 AM   #8
Palmer
 
Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Default Re: Number of Big Items one can have

Important things to remember.

1: You cannot discard something you have in play "just to get rid of it".
It can only be discarded as part of another effect that says "discard a card/item". Don't play a Big item if you're not sure you really want it, because it can be a pain to get rid of when a GOOD big item comes along later.

2: You can sell it for a level, but you CANNOT "sell" items that aren't enough to get a level. If you have a big rock with No Value, you can't "sell" it by itself. Any time you do the "Sell" action, you have to sell at least 1000 gold worth of stuff. Now, you CAN include the "No Value" rock along with things that are worth 1000 to get rid of it.

3: If you have a Curse! Lose A Big Item... you can totally play that on yourself.
__________________
MIB #5799 - Vancouver, BC, Canada, Eh?
CON SCHEDULE

August 24 - 26, 2012 - Cos & Effect, Vancouver BC
Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.