Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2012, 08:52 AM   #11
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheese8242 View Post
The thing is Munchkin doesn't have a "stack" mechanic.
Let me expand upon that: The stack mechanism is not a natural application of real time cause-and-effect, so games that use it actually have to define what a stack is and how it works with respect to that game. Munchkin doesn't provide such rules, so no stack mechanism should be inferred by those who are familiar with such a mechanism.

In fact, in Munchkin, cards that do cancel another card are rare, and specifically say that they can cancel another card that was just played.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 02-01-2012 at 04:29 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:51 AM   #12
natesroom
 
natesroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad Cloman View Post
That won't work in Munchkin. He can only dig through a discard if a card allows him to do so, and the effect of that card must be resolved before any other card can be played (with a small number of exceptions such as Annihilation). So if he's digging through the discard pile, it's too late to stop him from pulling and playing Divine Intervention.
Is that correct? I would think that if he is still digging through the deck any card played before he finds the card he wants could be played... an immediate curse before he has even played or found divine intervention seems like it would work.
__________________
If i respond to your questions do no mistake me for a moderator... I'm just trying to be friendly and helpful, again I am just a player not a moderator
natesroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:11 PM   #13
RL
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colorado
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

EDIT: Ignore this post, it's wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by natesroom View Post
Is that correct?
Let's see if I can make it clear.

1) You can't just dig through the discards -- you must have played a card or used an ability that allows you to go through the discards.

2) That card/ability must be resolved before anything else can happen.

3) If the card retrieved from the discard pile is Divine Intervention, it is played immediately, before anything else can happen.

4) Thus, if a Cleric begins going through the discard pile to retrieve Divine Intervention, it's too late to stop him from going up a level (with the exception of cards that take effect retroactively, like Annihilation).
__________________
Check out my Munchkin trade post

Last edited by RL; 01-23-2012 at 06:17 AM.
RL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:40 PM   #14
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad Cloman View Post
2) That card/ability must be resolved before anything else can happen.
The card is resolved as soon as the player begins searching the discards -- you do not have to wait for him to finish searching to play other cards. (Also note that I've previously ruled that use of the Wand of Dowsing or similar cards cannot be used to forestall the end of combat -- you can't use it to bring the game to a screeching halt for your fishing expedition.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 01:24 PM   #15
RL
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colorado
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Okay. I stand corrected.
__________________
Check out my Munchkin trade post
RL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 03:59 PM   #16
andrewcornett
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
If you want to make him lose his Class, play the card before he finishes going through the discard piles.

Everyone should reread Andrew's post more carefully. As soon as a player starts digging through the discard pile and before he finds DI you can change his class.
andrewcornett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 09:05 AM   #17
natesroom
 
natesroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

I see the issue clearly now..

The wand of Dowsing is resolved once they start digging as Andrew said... The Divine Intervention issue is that cards particular issue
__________________
If i respond to your questions do no mistake me for a moderator... I'm just trying to be friendly and helpful, again I am just a player not a moderator
natesroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 02:43 PM   #18
Jawshco
 
Jawshco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: California
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

I apologize if this question has already been answered, but if a Cleric "Loots the Room" and gets the Divine Intervention card, are they able to keep that card in their hand until they get to the 9th level and immediately win the game with it? I was thinking that even when looting the room that Up a Level cards immediately applied, and holding DI until the end would be cheating. However, a friend of mine claimed victory by using that method. Who is correct in this case?
Jawshco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 02:45 PM   #19
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

No. The card says, "You must play this card as soon as you get it." You cannot ever keep it in your hand.

Go Up a Level cards can be kept in your hand, though (Divine Intervention is not a GUAL). You can play them whenever you want, provided the person you play them on is Level 8 or below.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 08-14-2012 at 02:50 PM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 03:26 PM   #20
Jawshco
 
Jawshco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: California
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
No. The card says, "You must play this card as soon as you get it." You cannot ever keep it in your hand.

Go Up a Level cards can be kept in your hand, though (Divine Intervention is not a GUAL). You can play them whenever you want, provided the person you play them on is Level 8 or below.
I knew it! B-rad (the guy who won the game with that cheating strategy) believes it's not cheating if he doesn't get caught or can get me too confused to overrule him. So as the game owner, I'm officially revoking his victory! LOL!
Jawshco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change class, divine intervention, endgame, rules, wand of dowsing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.