Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2012, 11:44 PM   #1
UncleBob
 
UncleBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern Illinois
Default UncleBob's Noob thread of Noob Questions

Can you "trade" or give away monster cards from your hand? Say Player A is about to win. Player B has a Wandering Monster card, but no monster in his hand. Player C has a monster, but no way to play it. Can one player give the other their card so he or she can play them both against Player A?

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 08-12-2012 at 12:20 AM.
UncleBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 01:51 AM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: The Guild Booster Question - already answered.

No, you can't.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 08-12-2012 at 12:21 AM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 12:23 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Trading Monster cards from your hand.

You can only Trade Items. This means that they must be already in play. Monster cards will just have to stay in your hand.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:42 AM   #4
whitecloud197
 
whitecloud197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Default Re: Trading Monster cards from your hand.

Munchkin Man,

I thought I read in the rule book at one point (please correct me if im wrong)

that you can trade cards, from table to table, or from hand to hand but not from table to hand.

so that person could trade that monster card for something else in the other persons hand. but not that monster for Card A which is in play.
whitecloud197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:49 AM   #5
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Trading Monster cards from your hand.

You can only trade them from the table:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rules
You may trade Items (but not other cards) with other players. You may only trade Items from the table not from your hand.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 08:55 AM   #6
mcbobbo
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Re: Trading Monster cards from your hand.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe you could try and pump your hand over 5 cards and then use Charity to pass Monsters over to the lowest-level player.
mcbobbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:17 AM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Trading Monster cards from your hand.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcbobbo View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe you could try and pump your hand over 5 cards and then use Charity to pass Monsters over to the lowest-level player.
That would work. But that's not "trading" as it's defined in the rules, just so there's no confusion.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 10:12 PM   #8
UncleBob
 
UncleBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern Illinois
Default Re: Trading Monster cards from your hand.

...and wouldn't be of too much help if you're trying to prevent a player from winning a battle they're currently in. :D
UncleBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:45 AM   #9
tremorlaine
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Re: Trading Monster cards from your hand.

Can you trade an item from the table for a future treasure or for say assistance? In other words, can I give my fellow Munchkin my Tinfoil Hat for his next two treasures? Or can I say, if you help me defeat this monster I'll trade you my Tinfoil Hat?
tremorlaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 12:04 PM   #10
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Trading Monster cards from your hand.

Giving him your Tinfoil Hat for assistance is fine. If you tried to give it it him for future Treasures they would have to be Items in order for him to give them to you.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.