Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2012, 02:15 PM   #1
dklittle
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default A Few Questions from a New Player

Hello,

I had a few questions, and I apologize ahead of time if these questions seem stupid, or if they are clearly answered elsewhere. They are mainly yes or no questions, and I figured this would be the fastest way to get them answered.

1) When you die, do you go back to level 1 when you come back alive?

2) When you die, can you now get items starting at the beginning of the next players turn (e.g. My friend died. The next turn I died. Does my friend get one of my items?

3) Are items that do not say "one use only" automatically equippable items (e.g. Pantyhose of Giant Strength)?

4) Can you play one shot items to your board as "in play" in order to get them out of your hand?

5) When someone picks cards at random does that person get to see which cards are treasures and which are doors since they can see the back of the cards?

6) If you are half breed elf/dwarf, can you use an item that is for dwarves only?

7) I read in the forums that you can discard your race/class any time, is this true, even in combat?

I think that is all for now.

Thank you.

Last edited by dklittle; 08-10-2012 at 02:23 PM.
dklittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 02:32 PM   #2
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: A Few Questions from a New Player

1) No. Keep your level.

2) Yes.

3) Different items have different rules. Most non-one shot items will be equippable with exceptions being spelled out on the card. Other members or mods here may have a more detailed response to this one.

4) Yes. A disadvantage to this is that you lose the element of surprise.

5) Yes. (Unless you make him close his eyes.)

6) Yes.

7) Yes.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 02:38 PM   #3
dklittle
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Re: A Few Questions from a New Player

For #7... is that even if nothing says to discard a card?
dklittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 02:40 PM   #4
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: A Few Questions from a New Player

Yes. You are allowed to stop being any race or any class at any time for any reason. Or no reason.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 03:34 PM   #5
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: A Few Questions from a New Player

Quote:
Originally Posted by dklittle View Post
5) When someone picks cards at random does that person get to see which cards are treasures and which are doors since they can see the back of the cards?
If it says random it is RANDOM. They shouldn't be able to look. Make they close their eyes or roll a die, unless it's ok with you that the person chooses.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 04:51 PM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: A Few Questions from a New Player

Quote:
Originally Posted by dklittle View Post
1) When you die, do you go back to level 1 when you come back alive?

2) When you die, can you now get items starting at the beginning of the next players turn (e.g. My friend died. The next turn I died. Does my friend get one of my items?
The rules state that you keep your Level, Race and Class (if any). They also say that you come back to life at the start of the next player's turn (which means that you can help in combat, receive Charity, and do whatever else you can in your incredibly limited state, as you have no cards or Items, at least until you receive Charity or help in a winning combat before your turn starts). and that you get 4 cards from each deck at the start of your next turn.

Quote:
3) Are items that do not say "one use only" automatically equippable items (e.g. Pantyhose of Giant Strength)?

4) Can you play one shot items to your board as "in play" in order to get them out of your hand?
You are allowed to carry any number of small Items, so you can play any card that is a small Item (this includes one-shot Items) to the table. At that point, it is carried. If you're not using an Item, for whatever reason, turn it sideways. You're only allowed one Big Item in play, so if you already have one in play, you can not play another one without a card that allows for it. As for one-shot Items, I've already said they can be put into play (they are Items after all), but the rules double cover this by saying that one-shot Items can be played at any time that would be appropriate (usually during combat), either from your hand directly, or from in play on the table.


Quote:
5) When someone picks cards at random does that person get to see which cards are treasures and which are doors since they can see the back of the cards?
If they can look at the card, then it's not really random. However, it can be hard to guarantee total randomness, and if you really don't care if they can see the backs, then don't worry about it. We can't make you play the game the way we think should be the right way, so you're allowed to make judgement calls that make sense in the moment.

Quote:
6) If you are half breed elf/dwarf, can you use an item that is for dwarves only?
You get all of the benefits and all of the downsides to both Races, and the ability to use a Race-only Item would be a benefit. So, you could use an Elf-only Item and a Dwarf-only Item in such a situation.

Quote:
7) I read in the forums that you can discard your race/class any time, is this true, even in combat?
Yes. It's also covered in the rules for the descriptions of what Races and Classes are.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 08-10-2012 at 10:27 PM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:47 AM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: A Few Questions from a New Player

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonetm View Post
If it says random it is RANDOM. They shouldn't be able to look. Make they close their eyes or roll a die, unless it's ok with you that the person chooses.
That's a matter for each table to decide, honestly. I don't think we gain anything by being super-prescriptivist about it.

I have suggested in the past, however, that if you really care about randomness, mix up the cards under the table, have the other person choose a number from 1 to (number of cards in your hand), and then count from the top of the pile. That eliminates the possibility of peeking, unless you're using a glass table.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.